Toyota Nation Forum banner

5SFE Oil leak at Dist - can I fix it myself??

8K views 11 replies 6 participants last post by  fred9x 
#1 ·
96 Camry wagon with 117,000 miles. I bought it new. I'm NOT a mechanic. Other than fluids and spark plus, I have replaced valve cover gasket (to stop an oil leak). But I'm retired and considering trying to do the repair myself. I now realize oil leak is over one year old. Not burning oil - 12 months and 6,000 miles and dip stick level only got to Low notch. Also no oil on pavement (Yet?). But fresh, glistening oil's highest point is bottom of distributor.

I read there are two O rings/gaskets - one external and one internal. I'm not interested in trying to rebuild the dizzy to get to the internal gasket. The full new oem distributor, #19100-74230, ain't cheap but would replacing it be similar to this video about an MR2?

I've also seen discussion of just replacing the distributor housing, part # 19235-74230. Would doing so replace both O rings/gaskets?

Lastly, should I first take off the dist cap to look for oil in it? And if there is oil in it does that indicate the internal O ring/gasket is leaking?

Thank you.

See less See more
#2 ·
96 Camry wagon with 117,000 miles. I bought it new. I'm NOT a mechanic. Other than fluids and spark plus, I have replaced valve cover gasket (to stop an oil leak). But I'm retired and considering trying to do the repair myself. I now realize oil leak is over one year old. Not burning oil - 12 months and 6,000 miles and dip stick level only got to Low notch. Also no oil on pavement (Yet?). But fresh, glistening oil's highest point is bottom of distributor.

I read there are two O rings/gaskets - one external and one internal. I'm not interested in trying to rebuild the dizzy to get to the internal gasket. The full new oem distributor, #19100-74230, ain't cheap but would replacing it be similar to this video about an MR2?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcuYmz4mzzQ