Knock Sensor wire on 96 Camry - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 10-30-2006, 04:28 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
3rd Generation Knock Sensor wire on 96 Camry

Had an engine code come up on my 96 camry that pointed to the knock sensor. Upon inspection, the original shielded wire has been spliced and a short pitail of normal wire was run to cover the needed distance to the knock sensor. I'm guessing that this is causing the code as I was told that splicing the wire this way would disrupt the sensor signal, and that the wire had to be a predetermined length to work correctly. Sooo: 1) Is this correct? 2) Where can I find just the knock sensor wire without having to buy the whole wiring harness?

I understand that the knock sensor may be the culprit, but the spliced wire is surely suspect, and I thought I'd start at the point of least $$$$.

Any help is appreciated. Thanks.

Dusty
Dusty Drake is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 10-30-2006, 05:08 PM
Banned by a newb
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: In exile
Posts: 4,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Cool

If the wire is otherwise in good shape. I'd blame the sensor. It's shielded just to keep it from picking up EMI from the ignition system. But in our case, the ignitions are already shielded a good bit no their own so...

You check them both at the same time anyway, so check them both. I'd make sure that sensor isn't shot & grounding out tho.
Toysrme is offline  
#3 Old 10-30-2006, 05:27 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: PNW
Posts: 6,403
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Is this an I4 or V6? What specific trouble code was read? There is more then one code for the knock sensor circuit. Do not think a specific length of harness wire is required. The knock sensor generates a signal when the engine is knocking. Could be a defective sensor(s), short or open wire to the sensor.
toyomoho is offline  
#4 Old 10-30-2006, 06:44 PM
TN Pussy Man
 
Eye8Pussies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GTA (III)
Posts: 13,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 158 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
well, it's pretty easy to check if your knock sensor is dead or not- just use a multimeter and test the continuity of the sensor. if you get continuity, the sensor is blown. otherwise, it's still okay.

and no, the length of the wire doesn't matter.


and as well, no, the sensor doesn't only send a signal when it hears knocking- it actually sends a continuous variable signal to the ecu. that's why you can't just take the knock sensors out to trick the ecu.

if the sensor itself is still okay, check your ground on the block to the knock sensor- make sure it's clean, and resplice the wire yourself. If any part of the wiring is touching the shielding, it's being grounded before it even reaches the sensor.

HaHa

__________________

"Life is a deep sleep, of which love is the dream..."
Ripped...and the girls are loving it.
Eye8Pussies is offline  
#5 Old 10-30-2006, 07:49 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kansas
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the help. I'll recheck everything. I do have an I4 - meant to put that in the first post but it didn't get there. So, assuming I'm not grounding out anywhere, I can splice into the shielded wire with no ill effect? If so, why is the shielded stuff there to begin with?
Dusty Drake is offline  
#6 Old 10-30-2006, 08:40 PM
TN Pussy Man
 
Eye8Pussies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: GTA (III)
Posts: 13,300
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 158 Times in 109 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
^ yup, as long as you don't let the wiring touch the shielding around the wire


and not sure....because on the v6 which has 2 knock sensors, one is shielded and the other one isn't....

HaHa

__________________

"Life is a deep sleep, of which love is the dream..."
Ripped...and the girls are loving it.
Eye8Pussies is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome