Check Engine Light on 99 Camry - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 07-26-2009, 04:58 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
4th Generation Check Engine Light on 99 Camry

Today, my check engine light came on in my 99 camry with 70k miles.

So I went to Auto Zone and came back with code, BBH02S12 which is a circuit fault.

The probable causes are...

-Open/short circut condition
-Poor electrical connection
-Engine mechanical fault
-EFI relay fault
-Fault H02S12

So I'm kind of at a loss and don't exactly know what I should do. Someone please help?

Edit: The code is P0136

Last edited by maxima1274; 07-30-2009 at 05:30 PM.
maxima1274 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-26-2009, 06:27 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wheeling, Illinois
Posts: 5,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 192 Times in 183 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have never seen a code like that. All the codes I have seen start with letter "P" and are followed with 4 numeric digits, like P0302 which would be a missfire in cylinder number 2. Try another Autozone.

Maybe someone else can respond here with any info on a code like the one you posted.

Mike
Mike Gerber is offline  
#3 Old 07-26-2009, 06:37 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Yeah the code did start with a P, but this is a more specific code. I'll try getting that "P" code again in the meantime.
maxima1274 is offline  
#4 Old 07-27-2009, 12:39 AM
イリジウム
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calif
Posts: 8,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 193
Thanked 924 Times in 873 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It's probably telling you a problem with the sensors. Just a guess maybe Bank 1 Sensor 2 (downstream)??

Anyway, get the official OBD-II code, in the P-xxxx format, not whatever the scanner substituted for.
JohnGD is offline  
#5 Old 07-27-2009, 09:23 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ok, I will try to go to autozone again and get the code in the "P" format.
maxima1274 is offline  
#6 Old 07-30-2009, 05:28 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Alright guys, I went back and got the code. The code is P0136

What should I do?
maxima1274 is offline  
#7 Old 07-30-2009, 06:26 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Here's what you do, use the search this forum function , put in P0136 and read the answers. Presto !

Last edited by finfinder; 07-30-2009 at 06:33 PM.
finfinder is offline  
#8 Old 07-30-2009, 06:32 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks for the great response. I was already doing that.

So how exactly do I change it? I'm still not clear on how to do it.
maxima1274 is offline  
#9 Old 07-30-2009, 10:32 PM
イリジウム
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calif
Posts: 8,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 193
Thanked 924 Times in 873 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
OBD-II definition shows a busted oxygen sensor. Hey, it's indeed the Bank 1 Sensor 2 (downstream).

1. Go to Autozone or your favorite local parts store. I know some here don't like Bosch, but their planar sensors are great. The planar design is more resistant to contamination. Worked well for me.

If you don't mind splicing the old connector you can save another $25 with a "universal" type.

http://www.boschautoparts.com/Produc...s/PlanarO2.htm

With OEM-type connector:
BOSCH Part # 13353 $82.99+shipping, rockauto.com
http://info.rockauto.com/Bosch/Detail.html?13353.JPG

Universal for 99 Camry, with wire splice kit:
BOSCH Part # 15733 $57.79+shipping
http://info.rockauto.com/Bosch/Detail.html?15733.jpg

2. Borrow a socket using the Free Loaner Tool Program.

3. Follow the directions.

How to replace an oxygen sensor:
http://www.ehow.com/how_4869830_chan...sor-camry.html

(If one sensor failed, the other is not far behind. )



Quote:
Originally Posted by maxima1274 View Post
Thanks for the great response. I was already doing that.

So how exactly do I change it? I'm still not clear on how to do it.
JohnGD is offline  
#10 Old 07-30-2009, 10:33 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: washington
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If you look at the last post in the search, it tells you exactly.
finfinder is offline  
#11 Old 07-30-2009, 11:02 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chi-Town
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnGD View Post
OBD-II definition shows a busted oxygen sensor. Hey, it's indeed the Bank 1 Sensor 2 (downstream).

1. Go to Autozone or your favorite local parts store. I know some here don't like Bosch, but their planar sensors are great. The planar design is more resistant to contamination. Worked well for me.

If you don't mind splicing the old connector you can save another $25 with a "universal" type.

http://www.boschautoparts.com/Produc...s/PlanarO2.htm

With OEM-type connector:
BOSCH Part # 13353 $82.99+shipping, rockauto.com
http://info.rockauto.com/Bosch/Detail.html?13353.JPG

Universal for 99 Camry, with wire splice kit:
BOSCH Part # 15733 $57.79+shipping
http://info.rockauto.com/Bosch/Detail.html?15733.jpg

2. Borrow a socket using the Free Loaner Tool Program.

3. Follow the directions.

How to replace an oxygen sensor:
http://www.ehow.com/how_4869830_chan...sor-camry.html

(If one sensor failed, the other is not far behind. )
Thanks bro, much better answer.

I already bought a factory OEM toyota O2 Sensor from my dealer for cheap

Would jacking up the car leave me enough space to work? Also, should I go to Autozone to reset my check engine light or should I just disconnect the battery to reset it?

Last edited by maxima1274; 07-30-2009 at 11:05 PM.
maxima1274 is offline  
#12 Old 07-31-2009, 07:37 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wheeling, Illinois
Posts: 5,536
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 192 Times in 183 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
"Would jacking up the car leave me enough space to work?"

It should, but very careful. Support the car safely on jackstands before getting under there. Did you get an O2 sensor socket while you were at Autozone? I would also spray down the threads of the old O2 sensor with a good penetrating oil like PB Blaster and let it soak for a while. If your Camry is the 4 cylidner 5SFE engine, the connector is inside the passenger compartment under the driver's seat, by the vent and cutout for the rear floor heat. Move the carpet a bit and you will see it there. Disconnect it and attach a long piece of twine or wire to the connector. After removing the O2 sensor itself from under the car, pull it through from under the car leaving a portion of the twine or wire inside the car. When the connector is through the bottom of the car, attach the connector of the new sensor to the twine or wire and pull it back in to the passenger compartment of the car. Then go back under the car and install the new sensor in to it's bung. Then reconnect the connector under the driver's seat. If you don't use this twine or wire trick you will be kicking yourself for hours while you try to fish a wire down under the car to draw the electrical connector back in to the passenger compartment of the car.

Mike
Mike Gerber is offline  
#13 Old 07-31-2009, 08:30 PM
イリジウム
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calif
Posts: 8,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Thanks: 193
Thanked 924 Times in 873 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
New oxygen sensors should come with antiseize and a plastic cap to keep out dirt. There should be a 5A EFI fuse in the fuse box. Pull it for about 1 minute should clear all codes. This way you won't lose radio stations and clock time.

If you already have a jack and stands yes they'll give you plenty of room. Make sure you exercise necessary safety precautions. Others would drive on the curb for an occasional work like this, but probably not in cities prohibiting curb side work (never done it myself, but people swore it worked great). Or make your own ramp with 2x10 lumber, see link below, doesn't need to be this long. Mine aren't.

2x10 lumber ramp (too long in my opinion, but there are pictures here):
http://mustangworld.com/ourpics/News/mwramps/index.htm


Quote:
Originally Posted by maxima1274 View Post
Would jacking up the car leave me enough space to work? Also, should I go to Autozone to reset my check engine light or should I just disconnect the battery to reset it?
JohnGD is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome