1999 Toyota Camry LE Security system - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-02-2010, 07:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
1999 Toyota Camry LE Security system

Hi guys, I am new here and I have a little problem with my 1999 Camry LE. Couple of days ago I found out that my Camry comes with a factory Security system that says "Toyota Security", but my dealer disabled that. I didn't see that when I bought it from the dealership. Upon noticing the security system I took it to the dealership. The dealer asked me for $300 to activate the system and being a student I really don't want to spend that valuable $300. Does anyone know how to activate the factory alarm system in 1999 Toyota Camry. Any type of help will be appreciated guys.

Thanks.
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-03-2010, 09:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
Anyone???
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 184
Thanks: 24
Thanked 20 Times in 20 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View Rattlin_Steele's Photo Gallery
It would be interesting to know how they "disabled" it. Might it have been as simple as unplugging it because they didn't have any key fobs for it? This thread might help you...

1997 Camry LE Alarm Question
Rattlin_Steele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 09:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,055
Gameroom cash: $1338230
Thanks: 664
Thanked 625 Times in 551 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
View fenixus's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhman06 View Post
Hi guys, I am new here and I have a little problem with my 1999 Camry LE. Couple of days ago I found out that my Camry comes with a factory Security system that says "Toyota Security", but my dealer disabled that. I didn't see that when I bought it from the dealership. Upon noticing the security system I took it to the dealership. The dealer asked me for $300 to activate the system and being a student I really don't want to spend that valuable $300. Does anyone know how to activate the factory alarm system in 1999 Toyota Camry. Any type of help will be appreciated guys.

Thanks.
most likely they simply unplugged the alarm ECU harness connector or something. if it was there and they "deactivated it" it must have been simple (they are lazy on such things). look for Toyota V.I.P RS3000 alarm ECU made by Fujitsu-Ten, it's a gray/black box, few by few inches. i think camry gen4 has the ECU located under the dash somewhere (my solara has it under center arm rest, 4runners have it under the driver seat).

under the driver's knee panel there should be a glass breaking sensor (covered in foam), try following the wires, they should take you to alarm ECU.

there is a difference between a factory installed alarm and dealer/port installed alarm (remote fobs are different, programming is different).

here is user manual for RS3000, once you find the box you can "activate it" and add new remote key fobs using instructions from this manual:
http://www.parksoffroad.com/tacomamo.../alarminfo.htm

or as PDF here:
http://www.4runners.org/writeups/rs3000/index.html

1999 camry LE uses RS3000 system and a gray fob (you can get them used off ebay at ~$38 shipped):
http://www.scribd.com/doc/9766159/TSEL01007
__________________

'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 139k
'00 Solara SE 5S-FE/A140E @ 90k

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale

Last edited by fenixus; 05-03-2010 at 09:52 PM.
fenixus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
Thanks guys, I will check on that as soon as I have some free time and post an update on that condition. Thanks for the suggestions.
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
Quick question though. I have a Viper 5301 remote starter+keyless entry installed on the car. So, if I do turn on the alarm (hopefully I will be smart enough to do that); will the alarm interfere with the viper keyless entry portion? Does anyone know?
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,055
Gameroom cash: $1338230
Thanks: 664
Thanked 625 Times in 551 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
View fenixus's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhman06 View Post
Quick question though. I have a Viper 5301 remote starter+keyless entry installed on the car. So, if I do turn on the alarm (hopefully I will be smart enough to do that); will the alarm interfere with the viper keyless entry portion? Does anyone know?
ideally aftermarket remote starter module should have been spliced into alarm wiring to disarm/arm it together with locks using same fob, though it's easier said than done. some installers simply skip this step. i think you would need to use a separate key fob for alarm (which is also a keyless entry).
__________________

'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 139k
'00 Solara SE 5S-FE/A140E @ 90k

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale

Last edited by fenixus; 05-05-2010 at 02:00 PM.
fenixus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
That means I am going to have to carry two remote controls. Is it possible that I can just turn on the alarm and not have any remote for it while I use the Viper system for the purpose of keyless entry and remote start?
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 10:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,055
Gameroom cash: $1338230
Thanks: 664
Thanked 625 Times in 551 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
View fenixus's Photo Gallery
depending on the wiring i think the remote starter will not work if alarm has been armed (especially if immobilizer is involved) with a different fob. sorry cannot say more, i am no expert in this matter at all.
__________________

'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 139k
'00 Solara SE 5S-FE/A140E @ 90k

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale

Last edited by fenixus; 05-05-2010 at 02:00 PM.
fenixus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2010, 11:19 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
That's ok. Thanks for the help though.
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 02:39 AM   #11 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Cali
Posts: 1,297
Gameroom cash: $122525
Thanks: 3
Thanked 13 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View abew330's Photo Gallery
you want to leave the factory alarm installed? i would just remove it all together and just install the viper system.

the factory alarm must have been unplugged instead of deactivated and i would do what fenixus said above.. should be fairly simple to get a replacement remote and program it to your factory alarm...
abew330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 09:00 PM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: BOSTON
Posts: 15
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dhman06's Photo Gallery
Well, my viper is only remote start+Keyless entry. It doesn't have the alarm system. So I want to leave the factory alarm installed in the car. Do I still need to do what fenixus mentioned above or there is other way around?
dhman06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:32 PM   #13 (permalink)
Freakin Scooters
 
LynchburgCSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Richmond, VA & Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 10,472
Gameroom cash: $1423545
Thanks: 310
Thanked 429 Times in 396 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
View LynchburgCSI's Photo Gallery
Mods, vote for sticky.
__________________


Honda Scoots Galore

TOTALED: '03 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 5.4L, '96 Camry LE 5S
LynchburgCSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Nor Cal
Posts: 80
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View KiDGiB's Photo Gallery
My friend had two different remotes for his car, he had to un-arm his car with one remote and unlock his car with another. I know its possible to have two alarms as long as they don't conflict each other.
KiDGiB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 01:54 PM   #15 (permalink)
Freakin Scooters
 
LynchburgCSI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Richmond, VA & Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 10,472
Gameroom cash: $1423545
Thanks: 310
Thanked 429 Times in 396 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
View LynchburgCSI's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by KiDGiB View Post
My friend had two different remotes for his car, he had to un-arm his car with one remote and unlock his car with another. I know its possible to have two alarms as long as they don't conflict each other.
Your friend had a hack-job install.
__________________


Honda Scoots Galore

TOTALED: '03 Ford Expedition Eddie Bauer 4x4 5.4L, '96 Camry LE 5S
LynchburgCSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.