Fuel Pump shut off relay / 92 Camry ? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 09-15-2010, 10:16 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Fuel Pump shut off relay / 92 Camry ?

Hi all,

I can't get back to work until I get my ride running, this is one of the nagging items, I've searched the car and the internet to find out if and
where a fuel shut off relay might be if there is one.

1992 Camry Le 2.2 EFI.
stratattack is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 09-15-2010, 10:53 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 55
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
under the hood,inside fuse and relay box,EFI relay
AliRazoR is offline  
#3 Old 09-15-2010, 11:09 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AliRazoR View Post
under the hood,inside fuse and relay box,EFI relay
We found the on/off relay , but are looking for A' Fuel Pump shut off relay that is triggered by a jolt or accident etc, if there is in fact one of those in a 1992.
stratattack is offline  
#4 Old 09-15-2010, 11:29 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 55
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i do not no where that is,sorry
i think it is not relay, is actually a reset button.

Last edited by AliRazoR; 09-15-2010 at 11:36 AM.
AliRazoR is offline  
#5 Old 09-15-2010, 11:42 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 55
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
AliRazoR is offline  
#6 Old 09-15-2010, 02:25 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks,

We popped loose the fitting on top of the Fuel Filter and found tons of pressure.
There seems to be no spark, not great at checking that though.
The 2 conductor cable (ylw/red) that goes into the side of the distributer is showing
12 volts with key on, we ordered a new coil that should be inside the distributer and will install it in the morning.
stratattack is offline  
#7 Old 09-15-2010, 03:00 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Wheeling, Illinois
Posts: 5,538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 193 Times in 184 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
"There seems to be no spark, not great at checking that though"

You need a digital volt/ohmeter and the specs from any manaul to check it.

"we ordered a new coil that should be inside the distributer and will install it in the morning."

That's usually the culprit when there is a no spark condition on any of the first 3 generations of Camrys; especially when these cars rack up lot's of miles on them.

Mike
Mike Gerber is offline  
#8 Old 09-16-2010, 07:08 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: AZ
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
CURE:

New coil was the cure, the coil is located within the distributer, you need to take it out to be able to unscrew/unbolt the coil from the distributer frame, it is really tough to pull it from the motor, but dont give up, it's a tight seal just keep working it out from the engine.
Read a shop manual, it warns you to replace the dist the to the exact position where you took it out, I think it says to bump the motor so the rotor points to cap wire #1 (something like that).
Mine was already in that spot, we marked with a black marker around the forward top bolt, and also made a cross mark at 12 O'clock where the dist housing mates with the block, that way it might go on close enough so the timming is pretty good.

Anyway the operation is pretty easy , we took off the air intake hose and disconnected the battery.

Started right up , ran rough for a bit then back to the sewing machine purrrrrr.....lol

Note: it runs funny until you put back the air filter and hoses as it's not calibrated to run without it.

No one chimmed in with a diffinitive answer to the op , maybe someday someone will have an answer lol

Thanks all for your help.


I love this car, it's a keeper.

250,000 miles
stratattack is offline  
#9 Old 09-17-2010, 06:10 AM
Official TN Member
 
Pvt-Public's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 15
Thanked 128 Times in 114 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It's strange that the site listed above:
http://www.theautopartsshop.com/auto...ia-switch.html
Shows an inertia switch for the Camry's yet the service manuals never mention one. This must be some after market add on. I even check the actual wiring diagram for my 99 and it has no inertia switch. I believe that if the ECU does not see a tach signal (except when the ignition is in the start position) it will shut off the pump via EFI relay.

Last edited by Pvt-Public; 09-17-2010 at 06:39 AM.
Pvt-Public is offline  
#10 Old 09-17-2010, 07:32 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Earth
Posts: 417
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 55
Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i read an article,it was written "only ford has an inertia switch".
the cars with air bag system,when the air bags activated by heavy accident,all the electrical system of car will be shut off so no need for inertia switch.
AliRazoR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome