P0325 Knock Sensor Circuit 1 Malfunction - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 02-17-2011, 02:48 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
P0325 Knock Sensor Circuit 1 Malfunction

Ok, I hate creating threads, but this damn knock sensor issue has been troubling me to no end and I'm out of ideas.

Long story short, after the new engine was put in, CEL was on with knock sensor circuit 1 malfunction. Replaced knock sensor, no change. Replaced connector, no change. Replaced knock sensor again with another one, no change. Replaced ECU with a used ebay one, no change.

Brought it to a family "friends" garage, (not too friendly anymore) and $800 later (replaced connector with new one from toyota, replaced knock sensor with new one from toyota, "replaced" wire with a "new" one, but it didn't look like it) and still has CEL on. That was last summer.

Then when I pulled the engine, I re-did the wiring myself with a new wire, soldered, shielded, covered in tape, shielded with that plastic looming stuff, taped again, more looming, more tape, more tape and more tape.

Still...CEL is on...Hooked it up to an oscilloscope today and the knock sensor checked out fine, so that works.

1) there's no way I'm getting to that wire again, it's too buried in there.
2) What's left to check? I'm out of ideas. My dad and mechanic say get another ECU, but I wanted opinions before I spent money on that.

The ECU, wiring and knock sensor are the only things in this circuit...so what else can I check? I need this fixed so I can pass inspection as I was due last month...
Chris Crash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-17-2011, 03:56 PM
Turbo Snail
 
Perkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tiona, PA
Posts: 5,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 73
Thanked 675 Times in 545 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Try to connect your defective Sensor wiring to the other bank and see if your problem goes away so you have two Knock sensor running off of one set of wires
Perkins is offline  
#3 Old 02-17-2011, 04:01 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
What?

5SFE only has 1 knock sensor. Sorry, should have specified this is in the 97 5SFE 5 speed.
Chris Crash is offline  
#4 Old 02-17-2011, 04:03 PM
Turbo Snail
 
Perkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tiona, PA
Posts: 5,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 73
Thanked 675 Times in 545 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
ooohh . my bad, i thought u had a 4th gen V6. lol
Perkins is offline  
#5 Old 02-17-2011, 04:05 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Here
Posts: 294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Possible floating ground. Clean all engine and battery grounds (use sandpaper), use electrical contact spray on contact points, and dielectric grease on connectors - CRC makes good products for this.


See if that changes anything.

Last edited by SilverSoarer; 02-17-2011 at 04:06 PM.
SilverSoarer is offline  
#6 Old 02-17-2011, 07:54 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilverSoarer View Post
Possible floating ground. Clean all engine and battery grounds (use sandpaper), use electrical contact spray on contact points, and dielectric grease on connectors - CRC makes good products for this.


See if that changes anything.
I'll try that tomorrow, but doesn't the knock sensor ground the circuit itself via the block where it threads into?
Chris Crash is offline  
#7 Old 02-17-2011, 08:18 PM
Turbo Snail
 
Perkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tiona, PA
Posts: 5,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 73
Thanked 675 Times in 545 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
If you cant get the code fixed, go to radio shack and pick up a couple Piezoelectric Sensors (273-073 at radioshack). Run the Positive side to the wire that runs to the computer, and run the negative side to the battery. Then just tape the Sensors to the fuel rail or something that senses good vibrations.
Perkins is offline  
#8 Old 02-17-2011, 10:53 PM
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 664
Thanked 628 Times in 554 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
i'm sure you've seen that before Chris, but here it goes again, maybe it helps the brain storming:

P0325
No knock sensor 1 signal to ECM with engine speed, 1,200
rpm or more
(2 trip detection logic)

Trouble Area:
-Open or short in knock sensor 1 circuit
-Knock sensor 1 (looseness)
-ECM

FSM troubleshooting steps:
1.
a) Remove the glove compartment
b) Disconnect the E8 connector from the ECM.

CHECK:
Measure resistance between terminal KNK of the ECM connector
and body ground.

OK:
Resistance: 1 MW or higher
go to step 3.

2. check the Knock sensor.
NG: Replace knock sensor 1.

3. Check for open and short in harness and connector between ECM and knock
sensor 1
NG: Repair or replace harness or connector.

4. Does malfunction disappear when good knock sensor 1 is installed?
YES: Replace knock sensor 1.
NO: Check and replace ECM


'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 142k
'00 Solara SE 5S-FE/A140E @ 92k

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale
fenixus is offline  
#9 Old 02-17-2011, 10:58 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego CA, Glen Cove NY,Fairford UK,Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 106 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Did you put anything on the sensor threads that could interfere with grounding?

It worked fine until I fixed it!
csaxon is offline  
#10 Old 02-18-2011, 08:37 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
This might be a dumb question but I'm new to electrical problems, how do I check for open or short in the wire?

also, where'd you get such detailed instructions/descriptions of the CEL? I've never seen that in the FSM.

csaxon, I don't think there is anything on the threads (like teflon tape or sealant) but the most recent knock sensor in there was installed by the mechanic when he was trouble shooting it, so maybe there is. I'll pull it off and check when I get home this afternoon as I'm in Greensboro right now.
Chris Crash is offline  
#11 Old 02-18-2011, 09:53 AM
Turbo Snail
 
Perkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tiona, PA
Posts: 5,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 73
Thanked 675 Times in 545 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
If you have a short in your wiring harness between the sensor and the computer when you were checking the wave forms with your Scope the forms would have been distorted. To check for a short, disconnect both sides of the harness so both plugs are not connected to anything. hook up a multimeter and measure Continuity the total length of the wire. If its broken, it will not have continuity. If its solid it will have continuity (Infinite)

Also check the resistance. It should have some form of resistance. IIRC I think 16 gauge wiring should have somewhere around .047ohms of resistance per foot. I could be wrong on that though.
Perkins is offline  
#12 Old 02-18-2011, 10:04 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
With the o scope I checked the knock sensor only, not the wiring.

I'll check for continuity in the wire later today, it's supposed to hit 75 degrees today, so pumped!
Chris Crash is offline  
#13 Old 02-18-2011, 10:19 AM
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,058
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 664
Thanked 628 Times in 554 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Crash View Post

also, where'd you get such detailed instructions/descriptions of the CEL? I've never seen that in the FSM.
PM sent


'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 142k
'00 Solara SE 5S-FE/A140E @ 92k

"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale
fenixus is offline  
#14 Old 02-18-2011, 10:23 AM
Turbo Snail
 
Perkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Tiona, PA
Posts: 5,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 73
Thanked 675 Times in 545 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 8 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris Crash View Post
With the o scope I checked the knock sensor only, not the wiring.

I'll check for continuity in the wire later today, it's supposed to hit 75 degrees today, so pumped!
Oh .. to make it easier, I would just scope the Sensor wiring then. You could tell right off the bat if its bad. If the wiring is shorted, or not grounded properly, your Wave forms will not be uniform on the wiring.

One other thing you could do is disconnect both connectors and probe the wiring harness and check for continuity between the harness and the body. If the wire got rubbed and is touching the body, that could mess it up too. The sensor is very basic though so theres really not too much crap that could go wrong
Perkins is offline  
#15 Old 02-18-2011, 10:26 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pluto
Posts: 5,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 241
Thanked 431 Times in 370 Posts
iTrader Score: 13 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I don't have the o scope anymore, and it was very complicated to use haha. Took forever to just get a damn wave.
Chris Crash is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001)

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome