1996 Camry (Gen 3.5): Climate Control (Heater/AC) Bulb Replacement - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd & 4th Generation (19921996 & 19972001) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 1992-1996 & 1997-2001 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-17-2012, 03:31 PM
Official TN Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
1996 Camry (Gen 3.5): Climate Control (Heater/AC) Bulb Replacement

Car: 1996 Camry LE

Hey Everyone,

I recently changed my light bulbs around the Climate Control area. I documented my experience...and decided to do a write up! Hope this will be beneficial to some of you.

I am not an expert...me and toyotanation.com will not be held responsible for any problems that you experience if you follow this guide!!

So this is the area that didn't have any illumination at night:

First, disconnect the negative battery cable. This is important to ensure that the air bags don't deploy on you. After battery is disconnected, wait at least 2 minutes before starting work:

Next, lower the steering column as much as possible:

There are two Philips screws holding the top part of the instrument cluster:

A regular screwdriver wouldn't fit properly:

...so I used a mini-screwdriver:

Once you get these two top screws out, let's have an overview of where the clips are located:

First, we'll take off the "U" shape plastic by the radio. I put some tape on a flat-head screwdriver:

Once you get the two clips disengaged, the top part of the U shape is beveled, it slides in on to the instrument cluster. So to completely remove the U shape plastic, you need to twist it upward and slightly push down:

Now you will see two screws holding the instrument cluster. Remove these two screws: