How does "mp3/wma playback capability" work? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)

5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2002-2006 & 2007-2011 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-15-2007, 04:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ve015891's Photo Gallery
Gen6 How does "mp3/wma playback capability" work?

Does this mean the CD player can play mp3s? i.e. so you can fit hundreds of mp3's opposed to 20 or so u normally fit on an 'audio cd'?

...how does that 'folder button' work?

i tried burning a CD of mp3's in folders.. but it did not detect any audio

please explain how this works ?!
ve015891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-15-2007, 05:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
One with the force
 
wireless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of Democracy
Posts: 2,262
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View wireless's Photo Gallery
Before someone elses states this in a less than courteous manner...


RTFM (it provides fairly detailed instructions on file/folder format) and use the search function on this forum.


Here is a freebie:
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/t209046.html
__________________
This is where you insert your signature

Last edited by wireless; 09-15-2007 at 05:18 PM.
wireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ve015891's Photo Gallery
thanks wireless, i read that but it didnt help much.

i stilll cant get mp3's to work? even w the .m3u playlist file

im using cd-rw btw
ve015891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 06:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
One with the force
 
wireless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Center of Democracy
Posts: 2,262
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View wireless's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ve015891
thanks wireless, i read that but it didnt help much.

i stilll cant get mp3's to work? even w the .m3u playlist file

im using cd-rw btw
There is your problem...99% of automotive CD players will not play back a cd-rw, only cd-r. IIRC it is covered in the thread I linked.
__________________
This is where you insert your signature
wireless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 06:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ve015891's Photo Gallery
Ah.. my bad. i need to go back gr5

so, w/o wasting a cd-r, can i do this:

create a playlist .m3u with all songs i plan to burn on cd
make a 'data cd' with the .m3u playlist file, and folders which contain mp3's for each music album

will that work??

thanks in advance,

sorry for my ignorance
ve015891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 06:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
=]
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,691
Gameroom cash: $203260
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View CamrySExxx's Photo Gallery
what program are you using ? if nero click on Creat MP3 cd. I also believe if you just burn it as a data file it will also work. If not cd-r's dont cost too much now a days anyways so your not going to be losing too much
__________________
CamrySExxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 06:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
touringcamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 6,925
Gameroom cash: $571375
Thanks: 5
Thanked 114 Times in 94 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
View touringcamry's Photo Gallery
I can tell you that I have used CD-RW on the stereo on my 07 Camry stock non-JBL head unit. It may be the brand of CD-RW that you are using. I have used several Verbatim discs.

I haven't tried burning M3Us so I don't know if those would work at all. I put music in folders and the unit will play music one folder at a time.

I have tried Memorex CD-RWs and the only consistent thing, that I have noticed, is that they suck - literally. They are like black holes for data. You can write data to them but good luck retrieving anything.
__________________

2007 Camry 2.4L 5M

Last edited by touringcamry; 09-15-2007 at 06:49 PM.
touringcamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 07:09 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ve015891's Photo Gallery
to burn the data CD's i just used windows explorer (drag and drop). Do i have to use a program that has the 'burn a mp3 cd' option? i know itunes can do that, but i duno if the folders thing would work then. i'd like that folder setup so i can switch albums with the folder buttons on the deck

its interesting that some cd-rw's work as touringcamry just said. i tried making data CD's with imation and TDK rw's (with and without the playlist file). neither worked. it said "no music found"

i tried burning a data cd with folders with mp3's inside (no playlist file) on a CD-R... didnt work it said "error 1"

Last edited by ve015891; 09-15-2007 at 07:12 PM.
ve015891 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 07:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
touringcamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NorCal, USA
Posts: 6,925
Gameroom cash: $571375
Thanks: 5
Thanked 114 Times in 94 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
View touringcamry's Photo Gallery
Do you have something other than Windows to burn the CD with? Are you burning using ISO format, packet writing or Mt Rainier or something like that? If you are using ISO1 or ISO2 aka ISO 9660 or 9660:1999

Ensure that you use disc at once and finalize the disc. Do not use multi-session.
__________________

2007 Camry 2.4L 5M
touringcamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2007, 10:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
07 XLE
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 85
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View T4CAMRY's Photo Gallery
I use Itunes. Create a playlist. Drag songs you want into the playlist. Right click-choose burn to disc. Make sure properties ar set to burn as MP3. I use CD-Rs. Never had a problem.

I love the mp3 option I have (6) main playlist on my ipod I burn those playlist onto disk. I don't even need the aux input.
T4CAMRY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 12:59 AM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
silverSEV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View silverSEV6's Photo Gallery
Gen6

If i'm not mistaken, windows will not allow you to burn MP3 cd's. Use some software. I use Nero, from there you can click either "create MP3 cd" or "create data cd". It would do the same thing. You can have folders, and then you can flip through them on your stereo unit.
silverSEV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 04:51 AM   #12 (permalink)
Loving the camry =)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: California
Posts: 330
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skyxliner's Photo Gallery
i have a 2007 camry LE. I use nero to burn my mp3s as a data on a cd-rw and it plays perfectly on my camry. It even allows me to use folders to seperate types of songs.

it is probably 90% the brand or type of cdrw your using, and 10% the burner program u use and whether or not u use "burn as data files".
skyxliner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 09:30 AM   #13 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Boardman, OH
Posts: 68
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View beejay21k's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by silverSEV6
If i'm not mistaken, windows will not allow you to burn MP3 cd's. Use some software. I use Nero, from there you can click either "create MP3 cd" or "create data cd". It would do the same thing. You can have folders, and then you can flip through them on your stereo unit.
I use Windows drag-and-drop to burn my MP3 (actually, I use WMA) CD's and they work just fine in my Camry.

Does the music you are using have DRM on it? In that case, it won't work.
__________________
2007 Camry LE
16" Alloy Wheels | Moonroof | Sirius
beejay21k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:00 AM   #14 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
silverSEV6's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 152
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View silverSEV6's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by beejay21k
I use Windows drag-and-drop to burn my MP3 (actually, I use WMA) CD's and they work just fine in my Camry.
Of course, they will work fine. WMA is a windows media file, so it WILL burn that. But try burning MP3's. I might be wrong, but i'm pretty sure it wont let you do that.
silverSEV6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2007, 11:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 290
Thanks: 4
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View LNGasMan's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by T4CAMRY
I use Itunes. Create a playlist. Drag songs you want into the playlist. Right click-choose burn to disc. Make sure properties ar set to burn as MP3. I use CD-Rs. Never had a problem.

I love the mp3 option I have (6) main playlist on my ipod I burn those playlist onto disk. I don't even need the aux input.
I've been using the aux port with my iPod, I'm going to try the above method. Thanks T4CAMRY!
__________________
2013 Camry SE - Classic Silver
2011 Rav4 - Black Forrest Pearl
LNGasMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aux2car Will Work On 2004 Matrix Factory Hu!, Can anybody confirm this? ventzi 9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008) 1 10-06-2005 06:21 PM
A/C dont work with new Dash, Camry Forum is clueless ? ? ? avalon01 Audio, Video, and Security - Tech 16 08-29-2005 09:11 AM
will this alarm work with my ride?? kpark8075 Camry & Solara Lounge 1 09-18-2003 05:49 AM
If you ever complained about having a bad day at work... InNeedOfH2O Off Topic 21 07-25-2003 03:47 AM
Headlights Work SOMETIMES... Im_a_dickhead2 Hardcore Tech and Competition 9 04-22-2003 10:40 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.