how to reset TPMS - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2002-2006 & 2007-2011 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 07-13-2008, 12:30 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
how to reset TPMS

I checked the manual on how to reset tpms and couldn't find anything. I got oil change at dealer couple of days ago(they must have adjusted the air pressure) and now my TPMS light keeps coming on. I can't seem to fin the switch to reset tpms. Anyone know the location of this switch?

edit:2008 camry se

Last edited by ylen13; 07-13-2008 at 12:46 PM.
ylen13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 07-13-2008, 03:58 PM
'07 XLE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 6,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 72 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Gen6

Your Owners manual says....................

Pushing the tire pressure warning reset switch should not turn off the tire pressure warning light.

Adjusting the tire inflation pressure will turn off the light.

and it also says where the reset switch is.
njerald is offline  
#3 Old 07-13-2008, 04:15 PM
Senior TN Member
 
geoff5093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goffstown, NH
Posts: 4,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
The switch is behind the glove box on the passenger side.


geoff5093 is offline  
#4 Old 07-13-2008, 07:36 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff5093 View Post
The switch is behind the glove box on the passenger side.
Thank you for that reply. So i need to take glove box out? I thought it was in the glove box it self, but from reading your reply i am getting feeling that in order for me to get to the switch i need to take globe box out. Is that correct?
ylen13 is offline  
#5 Old 07-13-2008, 10:33 PM
Senior TN Member
 
geoff5093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goffstown, NH
Posts: 4,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
I believe you can just open the passenger compartment and there should be a red button on the side (I can't remember if it's on the left or right though).


geoff5093 is offline  
#6 Old 07-13-2008, 11:26 PM
Joined the dark side. :D
 
workerant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 5,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,927
Thanked 310 Times in 270 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by geoff5093 View Post
I believe you can just open the passenger compartment and there should be a red button on the side (I can't remember if it's on the left or right though).
I thought it was black... anyway, there is only 1 button so..... just press it.. it won't blow up your car.
workerant is offline  
#7 Old 07-13-2008, 11:52 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by TTM77 View Post
I thought it was black... anyway, there is only 1 button so..... just press it.. it won't blow up your car.
I must be blind but i don't see any button to press. I was looking for it, when it first happened.Do i actually need to remove the glove box to get to it?
ylen13 is offline  
#8 Old 07-13-2008, 11:56 PM
'07 XLE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 6,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 72 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Gen6

Amazing..................................and the button isn't even needed.

Last edited by njerald; 07-14-2008 at 12:02 AM.
njerald is offline  
#9 Old 07-14-2008, 12:04 AM
2GR Power
 
GT-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 185
Thanked 160 Times in 145 Posts
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
It's the black button on the left side of the glove box. No need to take out anything.

Did you check the tire pressure first? Make sure it's 31 PSI all around?


Last edited by GT-R; 07-14-2008 at 12:07 AM.
GT-R is offline  
#10 Old 07-14-2008, 12:09 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camry GT-R View Post
It's the black button on the left side of the glove box. No need to take out anything.

Did you check the tire pressure first? Make sure it's 31 PSI all around?
In that case, i am blind as i don't see one.

edit:tire pressure is 32 as suggested per car manual.

Last edited by ylen13; 07-14-2008 at 12:12 AM.
ylen13 is offline  
#11 Old 07-14-2008, 12:27 AM
2GR Power
 
GT-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 185
Thanked 160 Times in 145 Posts
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Yes, I meant 32 PSI, open the glove box, you should see the button on the left side.

A flashlight will help.


Last edited by GT-R; 07-14-2008 at 12:29 AM.
GT-R is offline  
#12 Old 07-14-2008, 06:16 AM
Joined the dark side. :D
 
workerant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: earth
Posts: 5,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Thanks: 1,927
Thanked 310 Times in 270 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camry GT-R View Post
Yes, I meant 32 PSI, open the glove box, you should see the button on the left side.

A flashlight will help.
I would like to add to this... just Open the door of the glove box just as you would when storing things.

If the tire pressure was set at 32psi, than pump the tire back to 32psi would turn off this low pressure light. (I saw this myself when my tire pressure was low. As I was pumping the tire, the light went off almost instantly)

Anyway.. go to CamryStuff and in the pdf file "Tire & Wheel" and on page 91 is where you find this switch.

workerant is offline  
#13 Old 07-14-2008, 06:39 AM
Senior TN Member
 
geoff5093's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Goffstown, NH
Posts: 4,408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
The button is to reset the TPMS system in order for the system to know that your current tire pressure is the correct PSI.


geoff5093 is offline  
#14 Old 07-14-2008, 08:26 AM
'07 XLE
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 6,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 72 Times in 59 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Gen6

His tire pressure gauge is in about the same shape as his eyesight and Owners Manual reading skills.

Last edited by njerald; 07-14-2008 at 09:15 AM.
njerald is offline  
#15 Old 07-14-2008, 08:42 AM
2GR Power
 
GT-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 8,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 185
Thanked 160 Times in 145 Posts
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Just take the whole dash out, then you'll find it easily.

GT-R is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome