Need help with amp and sub install - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)

5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2002-2006 & 2007-2011 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-21-2008, 02:57 AM   #1 (permalink)
07 Camry SE V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View aznhyperracer's Photo Gallery
Gen6 Need help with amp and sub install

i did search the forum found couple threads but no pics.....

planning to install amp and subs....just wanted to know where the remote wire will hook up and how you run the power wire through the firewall...

if you can post pics that will help out a lot...

thanks
__________________
^_^iF sPaRkS dOn'T fLy YoU'rE rIdInG tO hIgH ^_^

aznhyperracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-21-2008, 03:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
boo.hoo.hoo.
 
desentrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,499
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View desentrix's Photo Gallery
^ Wow. Are you riding on air?
__________________
2007 Magnetic Gray Camry LE V6:
Lit door sills, F/R cathode, trunk cathode, K&N SRI, IS250 chromes, LED tails/ bulb swaps, Katzkin leather


desentrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 04:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
i love emmanuelle chriqui
 
LXS-mode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: D-TOWN
Posts: 1,850
Thanks: 3
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View LXS-mode's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by desentrix View Post
^ Wow. Are you riding on air?
if sparks dont fly your riding too high! hehehe.. baller!

hey man what the hell are you doing up so early hehehe..
__________________
What is it about...Stance? Flushness? Stretch? or Pokin Out?
Clean...Elegant...Simple...yet so GANGSTA!!!
LXS-mode is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 03:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
07 Camry SE V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View aznhyperracer's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by desentrix View Post
^ Wow. Are you riding on air?
yup air runners
__________________
^_^iF sPaRkS dOn'T fLy YoU'rE rIdInG tO hIgH ^_^

aznhyperracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 03:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SaN Diego
Posts: 1,513
Gameroom cash: $460927
Thanks: 3
Thanked 24 Times in 24 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View LoudCamry's Photo Gallery
i dunno how gen6 people route their wire but for most car, you can run your power wire on the driver side, you can try to route your power wire parallel with the hood release cable or look for a aera with a opening at your firewall. you can route your remote wire with rca wire on the passagers side
LoudCamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 04:27 PM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sloth05's Photo Gallery
I just installed an amp and sub a month or so ago, and I had the same questions.

The remote wire can hook up to the fuse box kinda by where the driver's left foot is. I can't think of what it's called, but I had one of those where a fuse plugs into the Radio 2 spot, the remote wire comes off of that, and there's an input on that thing for the Radio 2 fuse. Sorry for the awful description of that.

There's a place on the passenger side in the firewall that you can get the power wire through. I basically stabbed a hole into the rubber thing, greased the power wire up w/ some vegetable oil (ghetto, I know), and slid it through. Took me hours of pushing and pulling the damn power wire and not getting it through before the idea of using something to lube it up.

I don't have any pictures right now but I'll see if I can take some for you this weekend.
sloth05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 06:54 PM   #7 (permalink)
=]
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,691
Gameroom cash: $203260
Thanks: 1
Thanked 38 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View CamrySExxx's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloth05 View Post
I just installed an amp and sub a month or so ago, and I had the same questions.

The remote wire can hook up to the fuse box kinda by where the driver's left foot is. I can't think of what it's called, but I had one of those where a fuse plugs into the Radio 2 spot, the remote wire comes off of that, and there's an input on that thing for the Radio 2 fuse. Sorry for the awful description of that.

There's a place on the passenger side in the firewall that you can get the power wire through. I basically stabbed a hole into the rubber thing, greased the power wire up w/ some vegetable oil (ghetto, I know), and slid it through. Took me hours of pushing and pulling the damn power wire and not getting it through before the idea of using something to lube it up.

I don't have any pictures right now but I'll see if I can take some for you this weekend.
exact same way here.
__________________
CamrySExxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 03:55 AM   #8 (permalink)
07 Camry SE V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View aznhyperracer's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by sloth05 View Post
I just installed an amp and sub a month or so ago, and I had the same questions.

The remote wire can hook up to the fuse box kinda by where the driver's left foot is. I can't think of what it's called, but I had one of those where a fuse plugs into the Radio 2 spot, the remote wire comes off of that, and there's an input on that thing for the Radio 2 fuse. Sorry for the awful description of that.

There's a place on the passenger side in the firewall that you can get the power wire through. I basically stabbed a hole into the rubber thing, greased the power wire up w/ some vegetable oil (ghetto, I know), and slid it through. Took me hours of pushing and pulling the damn power wire and not getting it through before the idea of using something to lube it up.

I don't have any pictures right now but I'll see if I can take some for you this weekend.
pics would help out a lot...thanks
__________________
^_^iF sPaRkS dOn'T fLy YoU'rE rIdInG tO hIgH ^_^

aznhyperracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:59 PM   #9 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sloth05's Photo Gallery
Ok, here you go. I hope this helps. I have a few more pics, but I'm not posting them right now because they were pretty repetitive. If you need other pics though, just let me know.

The red arrow points to where the power wire goes through. The green one shows where I unscrewed that thing to have a little more room for my hands down in there. Unfortunately, I lost this screw and that's why it's still loose.


Here's a closer up view. There are these long nipple things on there. I cut open one of those and forced the wire through there (with the help of a little vegetable oil). To get to that spot from the inside of the car, you're going to have to take out the glove box and the other plastic pieces around it. Kind of a pain in the ass, but it's the best way.


Here's the fusebox that I tapped into for the remote wire. The slot I used was called Radio 2 or something like that. On the right side of that black piece, you can see the red fuse that originally went in that space. Someone else can give you a better description of that maybe. (By the way, if you're using a line-out converter for a signal, you can buy a more expensive kind that gives your amp a remote power signal. More expensive, but one less hassle.) This fusebox is on the driver's side up front. The big blurry black thing in the pic is the parking brake.


And lastly, a pic of the trunk. Not a great pic, but just wanted to point out where that power is coming out from. (the red one is the power wire - the big blue is the ground) If you pull back that carpeting stuff, there's a way to snake the wire down there. I had my friend feed an old power wire I had down that corner of the trunk. (more explanation after this pic)


So then I sat in the back seat and lifted up the seatback where those arrows are (this is on the rear passenger's side seat). I reached up in there and eventually caught the wire. Then I used some tape and taped my power wire to the old one he was feeding me, and he pulled it back up into the trunk. All the wiring is very easy to hide. I've installed stereos in 4 of my own cars and helped w/ 3 or 4 of my friend's cars and I've never had an easier time hiding wires.
sloth05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:41 AM   #10 (permalink)
07 Camry SE V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View aznhyperracer's Photo Gallery
^^thanks for the pics...very helpful^^

planning to do my install on Wednesday...
__________________
^_^iF sPaRkS dOn'T fLy YoU'rE rIdInG tO hIgH ^_^

aznhyperracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 06:57 AM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Asteroid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 293
Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Asteroid's Photo Gallery
Is that a switched wire? You only want the remote to be activated when the radio/cd is on. On an aftermarket head unit you connect to the dedicated switch wire (usually blue) or with a factory head unit you can connect to a wire that is only on when the key is in ACC or RUN (such as the IGN wire to the radio).
__________________
04 ACV36R Camry Sportivo 4cyl manual
92 CE100 Corolla DX diesel (jdm import) *sold*
Asteroid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2008, 07:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
07 Camry SE V6
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Honolulu
Posts: 82
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View aznhyperracer's Photo Gallery
thanks to sloth05 for the pics...i did my install, it was a nice and clean job...took about 2 hours but I got the job done....
__________________
^_^iF sPaRkS dOn'T fLy YoU'rE rIdInG tO hIgH ^_^

aznhyperracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 12:09 PM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Cinci, OH USA
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View subtracted's Photo Gallery
Sloth05, you are an internet hero man.Your install guide is GREAT! Thanks for putting in some time to make sure it was thorough, I am sure we all appreciate it very much
subtracted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2010, 01:39 PM   #14 (permalink)
Low & Slow Cam
 
BlackCam09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 2,719
Gameroom cash: $1007460
Thanks: 81
Thanked 237 Times in 227 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View BlackCam09's Photo Gallery
I wired my remote wire to the back of my hu, there should be one there unless if you are using the stock HU. I ran my kicker hyperflex 1/0 gauge wire through the firewall grommet where all the stock wires run in from. Its right above the pedal under the steering column, i also have a I4 i know the V6 there's barely any room to get to it from the engine bay. lol Then i ran the power wire along the driver side panels all the way to the back of the trunk.
__________________

BlackCam09 is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.