Start-Up Noise - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) Toyota Camry Discussion for years: 2002-2006 & 2007-2011 Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving America's favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 12-29-2012, 01:32 PM
'04 Camry XLE V6

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Start-Up Noise

(Edit: Note - I no longer believe that the Mobil 1 oil filter was the cause of my start-up noise problem. Please read this entire thread to learn what I now believe the problem to be - a Toyota/Lexus VVT-i problem - e.g. Toyota/Lexus acknowledged: 'Brief Engine Knock & Rattle Noise At Cold Startup') kooter

After over 120,000 miles (and more than two dozen filter changes) I'm finished using the Mobil 1 M1-102 oil filters. I have been using the M1-102 oil filter for my 2004 3.0L V6 1MZ-FE engine beginning with the very first oil change, but no longer.

Over the last two oil & filter changes (10,000 miles over 9~10 months) I had experienced a random (maybe 3-4 times a month) valve-train clatter noise lasting a split second on cold start (after sitting 6+ hours). In all the years I have used Mobil One oil filters I had never experienced this cold start-up valve-train clatter/chatter noise before.

Well, with my last oil & filter change (about 500 miles ago) I had the cold start-up valve-train clatter/chatter noise about every-other day (3-4 times a week), which was driving me even more bonkers than before when it happened only 3-4 times a month. Something had changed... I am using the same Mobil One 0W-40 oil I've always used and the same Mobil One M1-102 oil filter I've always used. I have had no recent work on the engine, and engine performs great as always. But, why the cold start-up valve-train noise?