Toyota Nation Forum banner

'06 Camry (5th Gen) recently with Rough Idle

4K views 10 replies 4 participants last post by  leakyseals 
#1 ·
As of late, my 06 Camry (I4) idle's real rough @ 600 rpms when in park. It stays the same in drive with the A/C on. However, when I switch the A/C off, for about 2 secs, the idle will be smooth before dropping down in rpms. Some folks have said this is normal, but I've had this happened to my car before. I've got 135K on it so I'm guess a tune up is in order.

I'm new in the game of working on my car myself since a past issue with the dealer on my '06. So if all is needed is a tune up, I can do that myself with the parts of my choice.

Just wondering if others have seen this and what they think.

#2 ·
My suggestion? You need to have the throttle body and MAF (mass air flow sensor) cleaned. Go to an auto parts store and ask them what cleaners you'll need. If you didn't replace your sparkplugs at 120k, then do those too.

#3 ·
Here's the deal. At 105K, my wife went and got an oil change at some place near the house. They put 1 quart too much (or maybe more) that when the pressure built up, the oil had soaked my plugs, injectors, throttle body and air filter. I was out of town so my wife took the car to Firestone and they popped in some NGK iridium plugs. For some reason, I was thinking these came with platinum plugs. Either way, what would you recommend?

Also, I got some CRC Throttle Body and Air-Intake Cleaner, but someone told me that spray would damage the coating on the plate. If this is true, what do I use?

#4 · (Edited)
Coincidentally I just answered this in another post. Expanding on "its normal"..