Toyota Nation Forum banner

CV Passenger side Replacement

3K views 16 replies 8 participants last post by  mkingery 
#1 ·
2004 Camry need to replace right side axle. Where is a good place to start
looking for information on this site. Have a good idea looking at older models, but not this generation. Any help will be appreciated.

#2 ·
The cv joints haven't changed much in 25 years so if you could do one on an 87 you can do this one. If you are up to the taks, get a new joint from Toyota and replace it. If not you can buy a rebuilt half shaft but these can be suspect, so make sure it comes with a good warranty and pedigree. Replacing the whole thing is faster, easier, and a lot cleaner, but .........you know what I mean.

#4 ·
CV Suspect?

I Kinda thought it was similar in moves, this is my first attempt at this so I wasn't sure. I got the tools I need from AutoZone,the axle too. It's the Duralast Gold, New not reman. Made in China, so not sure about quality. Need to replace steering boot on same side, so will attempt all on Saturday

#6 ·
CV Replacement

I have seen some photos and video when replacing the axle they remove the bearing holder from the car as an assembly, then remove the bearing from the holder instead of doing it under the car. I thought that might be easier. Same thing with the brake caliper, some take it off, some leave it on. Looks like it might give you more room to work,but is it nessecary. Thanks for heads up on the battery disconnect

#16 · (Edited)
I have seen some photos and video when replacing the axle they remove the bearing holder from the car as an assembly, then remove the bearing from the holder instead of doing it under the car. I thought that might be easier. Same thing with the brake caliper, some take it off, some leave it on. Looks like it might give you more room to work,but is it nessecary. Thanks for heads up on the battery disconnect