Garage Door Opener - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Camry Hybrid

Camry Hybrid Discussion area for the Toyota Camry Hybrid. Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance all involving Americas favorite family car, the Toyota Camry.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2008, 07:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Derby Kansas
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View WABI1967's Photo Gallery
Garage Door Opener

I recently bought a 2008 Camry Hybrid with Garage opener switches in the car (Home Link) and used the learn code button to sit up the garage door opener to respond to the switch in the car. Worked great, until I tried to use my wireless keypad-IC (mounted on the exterior door jam of the garage). At first I thought the battery in the wireless key pad was dead. I replaced the battery and still no good. Any idea how I can sit up the opener to respond to both the wireless key pad and the Home Link switch in the car?
WABI1967 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2008, 02:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
The former Maxima guy
 
Chunger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: California
Posts: 77
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Chunger's Photo Gallery
It should not have anything to do with the HomeLink. It only learns the code from your transmitter when you set it up. It probably is just a coincidence. Your keypad may just have gone out.
__________________
2007 loaded TCH with 4300K HIDs and 245/40/18s Continental DW
2012 HiHy Limited with 4300K HIDs
Chunger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-01-2008, 12:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 262
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Pipemajor's Photo Gallery
We also set up our Homelink for our single garage door and it has not affected our keyless (Chamberlin) pad.

It's nice to have a built-in opener as opposed to a visor mounted clip on unit.

That said, I've found a few shortcomings in this arrangement.
  1. I can't find it easily in the dark (some type of pilot light would be REALLY nice
  2. I've programmed the open/close function but haven't been able to get the 2nd button to control the light on the opener
Which leads me to my general pet peeve about this car - our '92 Camry LE had all the driver door window and door lock buttons lit. The '07 TCH only has the driver window button illuminated. I still can't find the danged door lock switch at night!
__________________
'10 TCH, Magnetic Grey Metallic, Moonroof, Heated Leather and NAV
'92 LE I4, 180k original miles, Silver Taupe Metallic, Moonroof, ABS

Last edited by Pipemajor; 04-01-2008 at 12:52 PM.
Pipemajor is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2008, 05:40 PM   #4 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skidmike's Photo Gallery
Check and see how many devices your garage door opener can recognize. Typically, it's 3 or 5 (I don't recall). I ran into this limit once when I had 2 homelinks, 2 fobs, a keypad and wanted to give another fob to my bro, so he could get his 4-wheeler whenever he wanted it.

I ended up living without one of the fobs. IIRC, the "memory" operates like a ring buffer - the first (oldest) device "remembered" is the first one overwritten when you exceed the limit.

-- mike
skidmike is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-10-2008, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 196
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View carolinacamry's Photo Gallery
When I pressed the "learn" button on my garage opener, it erased every garage door opener I had in my wife's car, my son's and my daughter's as well as the key pad outside the garage. Had to reset all of them. Haven't reset the outside key pad yet cause I can't find the instructions to do it.
carolinacamry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-16-2008, 10:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 86
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View vin888's Photo Gallery
can i program the built-in garage door opener on the camry
for 2 different garage doors?
vin888 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2008, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Greensboro, NC
Posts: 196
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View carolinacamry's Photo Gallery
I assume you have a built in garage door opener with 3 buttons. You can set one button for one door and another button for the other. My '08 has 3 buttons but only programed 1 of them so far.
__________________
http://img501.imageshack.us/img501/706/1004578sw7.jpg Frank 2008 TCH
carolinacamry is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-17-2008, 10:48 PM   #8 (permalink)
TMS Prius Expert
 
Tideland Prius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 5,352
Thanks: 71
Thanked 44 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Tideland Prius's Photo Gallery
Yep. You have 3 buttons. Use them however you want.
__________________
2010 Prius Technology Package (Cdn)
OEM Cargo Mat, OEM All-Weather Mat, LED ext/int lights, 5000K HID, OEM Fogs, Euro Mudguards
Tideland Prius is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Hybrid Forum > Camry Hybrid

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.