Main 30 Amp fuse blows as soon as ignition turned on - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Camry & Solara Lounge Discussion area for every generation of Toyota's family car, the Toyota Camry. Lexus ES250/300 owners welcome! Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance and more.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 01-05-2006, 04:03 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beenleigh Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Australia Main 30 Amp fuse blows as soon as ignition turned on

Toyota Camry csi wide body wagon 1995. Anyone had a problem with the 30 amp fuse blowing as soon as the ignition is switched on. The starter motor still turns the motor but it obviously won't start as I presume the 30 amp circuit is for the ignition.
If anyone has any ideas what this might be it would be most appreciated. Thanks.
pwilliams5 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 01-05-2006, 04:40 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It should show around the fuse box or in your owners manaul what the fuse is for! Would it be your fuel pump?

Gary

Don't worry about what other people think....as most of them don't!
Gary_602Z is offline  
#3 Old 01-05-2006, 04:45 PM
VeeZed
 
JetspeedCamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,297
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Short Circuit in Ignition circuit, check your fuel pump.
JetspeedCamry is offline  
#4 Old 01-07-2006, 02:50 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beenleigh Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks I'll look at the fuel pump
pwilliams5 is offline  
#5 Old 01-09-2006, 04:17 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Beenleigh Australia
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Disconnected fuel pump but still blew fuse. Now going to an auto electrician.
pwilliams5 is offline  
#6 Old 01-09-2006, 05:01 PM
I'm a Mac
 
zoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southington, Connecticut
Posts: 4,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
its not the fuel pump guys... there is a different fuse for that.

the AM2 fuse 30Amp is for the main ignition... that means either the short is in the ignition harness or it is around the distributor(5sfe only) or bad ignitor (either 5sfe or 1mz)

im gonna bet on bad ignitor
besides that, if you JUST installed a remote start system, then chances are that wiring is bad and it caused this.

Last edited by zoni; 01-09-2006 at 05:02 PM.
zoni is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry & Solara Lounge

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome