check engine light on 2001 Camry - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry & Solara Lounge

Camry & Solara Lounge Discussion area for every generation of Toyota's family car, the Toyota Camry. Lexus ES250/300 owners welcome! Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance and more.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-18-2008, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jsun_14's Photo Gallery
check engine light on 2001 Camry

Bear with me on this, I am new to this whole forum business. I have a 2001 Camry LE which has a "check engine" light that has been a running problem going on 2 years. The diagnostic scan code egr code is reading EGR PO401 the carbon has been cleaned from relevant pipes & the egr modulator and the valve and both the valve and modulaor have been replaced. The light is back on yet again, same code, no solution. The mechanic wants to run more tests from a-z, which I read to mean more cash down the drain. I am out $500+ so far. Any suggestions? I have another appointment for the car on Monday, but am reluctant to spend another penny, but it won't pass inspection with that code. The other question is, doesn't the warranty cover this aspect of the cars performance at 59,000 miles?
jsun_14 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-18-2008, 11:59 PM   #2 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re

Supreme Member
View toyomoho's Photo Gallery