Help: Stock Alarm / Shock Sensor problem. - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry & Solara Lounge

Camry & Solara Lounge Discussion area for every generation of Toyota's family car, the Toyota Camry. Lexus ES250/300 owners welcome! Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance and more.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2005, 10:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Where are we going today?
 
skewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skewe's Photo Gallery
4th Generation Help: Stock Alarm / Shock Sensor problem.

I have asked this question a long time ago but I did not get much help. Hoping to get this resolved.

My car have a shock sensor which is under the steering column, slightly above the brake pedal.

It is a original toyota alarm. I think it was installed by Toyota when the 1st owner bought the car.
Part No: 00014-S0274
Looks like original Toyota Equip.

Should be a Toyota RS3200 alarm. I did a lot of search on google and also TN but not much info.

LED sensor should be blinking but it is not blinking.
I tried the dial on that alarm units in the pic below, it does not do squat.

Everything is connected right, meaning there is no lose hanging wires. Everything is secured tightly via wiretie.

The car lock/unlock and remote alarm is working. Meaning I open the door when the alarm is activated, it will honk.

Was unable to locate toggle switch as WhiteRabbit mentioned as it did not have one.

How do I activate the shock sensor?
Please anybody..


__________________
.
skewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-29-2005, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View techrat's Photo Gallery
check to see that both ends of the shock sensors wire harness is plugged in.

does it light up when you tap it?
techrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 12:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Where are we going today?
 
skewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skewe's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by techrat
check to see that both ends of the shock sensors wire harness is plugged in.

does it light up when you tap it?

Does not lite up when i tap it or when the alarm is armed.

Checked cables and everything is plugges in. Not sure if there is a fuse but I check the fuse box and there is nothing for alarm. Checked the cable panel by the left leg rest and everything looks plugged.
__________________
.
skewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View techrat's Photo Gallery
if the alarm is working fine except for the shock sensor then its not a fuse.

is there any chance that the original manual could be found? Most alarms have the option to remotly disable the shock sensor when false alarms are occuring.

using a mulitmeter check to see if the red wire going to the sensor has 12volts. (might have to arm the system to test)

if not then cut the red wire and run a new 12volt (3 or 5 amp) FUSED line to the shock sensor and tape up the the end going to the alarm.

if that doesnt do it, then also cut the black ground and run a new one to the sensor, tape up the one going to the alarm.



the way the alarm is installed , it won't have any fuses in the fuse block. its fuses will be IN the alarms harness or IN the alarm. (in case i'm wrong about my assumtions check for these first)
techrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2005, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Where are we going today?
 
skewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skewe's Photo Gallery
Thanks techrat

Before I go cutting up wires and buy a multimeter, does anybody have a stock alarm manual that also covers shock sensor.
Apparently, when i got the car, it does not have it and the camry manual does not say anything.
__________________
.
skewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 09:35 AM   #6 (permalink)
Where are we going today?
 
skewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skewe's Photo Gallery
bump
__________________
.
skewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2005, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: FL
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View bigG's Photo Gallery
yes said ur LED sensor doesn't blink then i might just be a simple problem the LED light has died and u just need a new one atleast that what i am think.


thanx
bigG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 03:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Where are we going today?
 
skewe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: US
Posts: 2,585
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View skewe's Photo Gallery
do not think it is the LED
__________________
.
skewe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 04:10 PM   #9 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 61
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View techrat's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by skewe
do not think it is the LED
= correct
techrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2005, 05:22 PM   #10 (permalink)
Still confused...
 
95WhiteCamry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UC Berkeley, CA
Posts: 2,305
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
View 95WhiteCamry's Photo Gallery
hey skewe, how many wires go into the shoch sensor?
if it has a 4 pin connection, i got an extra one lying around at home. It's not a stock toyota one but here are the specs:
KARR Security System
Model: KS-9495-4P
It came out of dad's RAV4 since we didn't want an alarm from the dealer. I don't know if the sensor works but we could give it a shot somehow. lemme know!
__________________
"live in the moment, forget the past and ignore the future"
Quote:
Originally Posted by white3ch0c0late
Yes, Alex is the resident woman-problems guy here at TN... take his advice...
'95 i4 camry sedan -> wrecked june of 2006 by a girl who couldn't drive
'95 v6 camry coupe (dropped, rimmed, front end converted, tinted and debadged) -> current
95WhiteCamry is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Camry and Solara Forum > Camry & Solara Lounge

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.