Camry & Solara LoungeDiscussion area for every generation of Toyota's family car, the Toyota Camry. Lexus ES250/300 owners welcome! Topics of discussion range from fuel economy, safety, modifications, performance and more.
i actually put down the money for one of those 'timing advance kits' and yes, it is a scam. all they give you is a resistor that plugs into your Air intake sensor to 'fool' your ECU into thinking that the air coming in is cooler than it really is. really easy to install, but it worked for s*it!
DO NOT BUY!!!!
__________________
1994 Camry LE 5sfe
http://members.cardomain.com/camryspeaksjl
///M3
The Jet Chip is actually about 500 bucks. That really works. But when you try to fool you engine into thinking you have a cold air intake... that would not.
i had a venom 400 and its was alright till that last heavy rain storm, felt like a baby turbo charger. trying to see if anybody has the jet chip on a v6 to see what kind of gains w/ intake and exhaust system
i had a venom 400 and its was alright till that last heavy rain storm, felt like a baby turbo charger. trying to see if anybody has the jet chip on a v6 to see what kind of gains w/ intake and exhaust system
what kind of gains where you seeing from the venom 400. I'm contemplating getting one, but I want to know if it's worth the money
i jus saw that yesterday!!!!....and it is a scam!!!!
isn't there anyway of sueing them jus for false advertisement??? these cheap knock off like these whould go out of business! :evil:
Has anyone delt with Powerchip for chips? I talked to them a while back and they had a chip out there for the 96 I4 camry. THey are in the down under but i guess they got a lot of camrys there.
__________________
96 Camry I4 with evo kit and custom everything else.
2005 4runner Sport V6 - Stock
2004 Camry Solara SE V6 - My new baby
forget about it man....if you're running stock, there's no such thing as easy power/performance.....it's not like chipping a stock 1.8t......you don't got no turbo to play around with..... 8)
__________________
HaHa
__________________
"Life is a deep sleep, of which love is the dream..." Ripped...and the girls are loving it.
Has anyone delt with Powerchip for chips? I talked to them a while back and they had a chip out there for the 96 I4 camry. THey are in the down under but i guess they got a lot of camrys there.
lot of camrys yes, modified camrys uh uh. its a shame.
at their website (i think it's www.powerchip.au) i put in like i want to buy and said pay by check. and i put in the message that i just wanted info about it but that there was no contact info, the guy called my cell back from australia that night.
__________________
96 Camry I4 with evo kit and custom everything else.
2005 4runner Sport V6 - Stock
2004 Camry Solara SE V6 - My new baby
These are all "psychological" mods. Jet has actually been caught swapping OEM ECU's with OEM ECU's, claiming to have reprogrammed the "new" one. Of course, they made a lot of money off kids who THOUGHT they had power increases...turns out it was all in their head. These kids are the same ones to claim to get 15hp from an intake on a Civic. haha
General rule of thumb...you get what you pay for. If it sounds too good to be true, it probably is.
Chips don't do much on any cars unless its a turbo car, I chipped my old ranger and dyno'd it........... +3 hp + 1 torq. I got the chip for free from my cousin so I wasnt mad but they do not do hardly anything. But on the other hand my dad chipped our 2000 Audi S4 (Bi-turbo V6) and it added 56 horsepower and around 50 torq.
I wouldnt waste my money on a chip for a N/A car unless they have dyno sheets proving it can actually do something.
~Chris
it is truly a scam. i bought one ... yeah i was stupid enough to buy one for 99 cents... thinking maybe it could do something i and when i saw i knew it was fake. its just a little wire ... like if you took apart a portable cd player and took a random wire thing ... that wuld be the peice hes selling its not a chip its a little wire ... done believe it sadly if it seems too good to be true then it really is
The AutoGuide.com network consists of the largest network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
AutoGuide.com provides the latest car reviews, auto show coverage, new car prices, and automotive news. The AutoGuide network operates more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share opinions as a community.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.