Toyota Nation Forum banner

New owner upgrade questions

3K views 14 replies 3 participants last post by  hman88 
#1 · (Edited)
Good day everyone, my name is Halston and I'm new to the Toyota Nation forum. My wife and I recently acquired a 2008 Toyota Highlander hybrid with the limited trim package. The vehicle has 135,000 miles with one previous owner and all service performed and recorded online by our local Toyota dealer. I was able to log onto Toyota's website using my vehicles Vin and successfully view all the service records since the vehicles very first oil change.

The vehicle was recently serviced according to Toyotas records but I would kind of prefer to flush the engine oil myself using 0w-20, and change out the transmission fluid. I did not see any records indicating the spark plugs were previously changed so I will also swap out the spark plugs using the Denso (3297) SK20R11 Iridium Spark Plug.
Has anyone swapped out their own spark plugs? Seems like the Hybrid model have fewer intake parts to remove in order to access the rear plugs.

I will also inspect the coolant and brake fluid.

So far the only thing I wish the vehicle had is an ability to stream music via Bluetooth. After doing a little research I found a device that should allow me to do so: USA SPEC BT45-TOY Bluetooth Phone, Music & AUX Input Kit for Select 1998-2014 Toyota & Lexus Models
Does anyone have any experience with this and or similar devices?

I also plan on replacing the dash and door speakers using:
Powerbass S-275CF 2.75-Inch Full Range OEM Speakers, Set of 2
Polk Audio DB691 6-by-9-Inch 3-Way Speakers (Pair, Silver)
Polk Audio DB651 6.5"/6.75" 2-Way Marine Certified db Series Car Speakers with Liquid Cooled Silk Tweeters
Does anyone know how this speaker configuration might perform with the factory JBL/Navigation head unit?
I purchased the speaker and wire adapters from Metra to ensure a clean seamless install.

I will also be installing a hitch/receiver and wiring T-connector: