Snow Button Question - Page 3 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
2nd Generation (2008-2013) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 2nd generation Toyota Highlanders.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#31 Old 11-27-2012, 03:22 PM
Do you feel lucky?
 
TrailDust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kalifornication
Posts: 23,902
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 376 Post(s)
Thanks: 2,543
Thanked 4,777 Times in 3,328 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by highlanderG6 View Post
What about the option Traildust said, "I've still had my greatest success shutting off VSC/TRAC to move across snow or ice, and that's with the crappy OEM Duelers mounted too."?
Read this assessment....says it all for me.

-------------------------


2008 Highlander Base 4WD
2002 Avalon XL
1987 Suzuki Samurai 4X4 - Treading where no Jeep can follow....
TrailDust is offline  
The Following User Says Thank You to TrailDust For This Useful Post:
highlanderG6 (11-28-2012)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#32 Old 09-04-2013, 11:41 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by fongster View Post
What exactly does this button do when pushed other than make a dash light come on? The manual doesn't say much beyond using for slippery conditions like snow. Is it good for rain? Does using it affect MPG? Thanks.
I am currently testing the MPG effects of using the SNOW mode exclusively for an entire tank of gas. I live in south texas btw, so never a need for this function in normal driving.
thegreatgathby is offline  
#33 Old 09-04-2013, 02:46 PM
Got Pyro?
 
funman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 209
Thanked 279 Times in 248 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
This could be interesting....

-


Professional Pyro..
No really; I get paid to blow stuff up...
funman1 is online now  
#34 Old 09-04-2013, 06:21 PM
AvConsult
 
AVConsult's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Texas
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 35 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 303 Times in 250 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've used snow mode, which locks out first gear anf forces 2nd gear starts, on my '02HL for years in stop and go traffic. 1st Gen transmissions are otherwise fairly nervous in stop and go, constantly shifting between 1 and 2.

Our '08 Snow mode appears to just be a de-sensitizing of the throttle and timing retard, rather than keeping 1st gear locked out.

-----------------
'08 Highlander Base with goodies
'02 Highlander V6
'01 Honda Civic
'93 Camry LE V6 (departed)
AVConsult is offline  
#35 Old 09-20-2013, 04:02 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
So I got 21.3 MPG on a tank using snow mode. Typical for me over the past year is 20.5 to 21. Probably not significant enough to distinguish. The throttle response is greatly reduced. It felt like the torque converter stayed in lockup more often, limiting higher engine RPM between shifts.
thegreatgathby is offline  
#36 Old 09-20-2013, 05:22 PM
Got Pyro?
 
funman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 209
Thanked 279 Times in 248 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It starts in second gear, so yeah way less torque when going from dead stop...

-


Professional Pyro..
No really; I get paid to blow stuff up...
funman1 is online now  
#37 Old 09-20-2013, 10:38 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: louisiana
Posts: 312
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 46 Times in 38 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by funman1 View Post
It starts in second gear, so yeah way less torque when going from dead stop...
No it doesn't. It starts in 1st gear, but throttle response is reduced and the ECM transmission computer use different torque management algorithms than in NORMAL mode. However, if you push the accelerator to the floor, you will have the same acceleration response as normal.
katekebo is offline  
#38 Old 09-20-2013, 11:11 PM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,596
Blog Entries: 9
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,163 Times in 923 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Yep all 5 gears. It just de-tunes the throttle response...basically.

Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
#39 Old 09-20-2013, 11:19 PM
Got Pyro?
 
funman1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,170
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 209
Thanked 279 Times in 248 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
ahh yep I went back and read it again...
OLDER versions do this not 2nd gen.. Got it....

-


Professional Pyro..
No really; I get paid to blow stuff up...
funman1 is online now  
#40 Old 12-25-2013, 05:31 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Thanks: 17
Thanked 9 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
It does more than just start your car in second gear. You can be driving at 60 on the highway and push the snow button and you will feel your accelerator pedal become less responsive and seem to drop in that you have to push it harder to get the same responsive power you had before hitting the button. It definitely changes the power/torque settings so you wont spin wheels.
jumbocavs is offline  
#41 Old 12-25-2013, 10:26 AM
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,596
Blog Entries: 9
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Thanks: 422
Thanked 1,163 Times in 923 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jumbocavs View Post
It does more than just start your car in second gear.
Doesn't start in 2nd gear on this car, still goes through all 5 gears.

Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome