Wiring Help Back up camera - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

2nd Generation (2008-2013) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 2nd generation Toyota Highlanders.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 02:58 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dallasfan1968's Photo Gallery
Wiring Help Back up camera

I have a 2011 Toyota Highlander Limited and I installed a new JVC KWNT50HDT Navigation Receiver. I find that having the small stock multifunction display showing the backup camera video as well as the head unit distracting. I would like to know what I need to do to disable the back up camera feed to the stock multifunction display?

Thank you for your help!
dallasfan1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-29-2012, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,019
Gameroom cash: $1404336
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 386
Thanked 1,087 Times in 857 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
just as a quick idea, you could try and remove the pin for the reverse trigger wire.
This should be what the plug looks like on the back:

My documents I have say pin 2 is the reverse signal wire. I would think without the wire, it wouldn't know to go to the reverse mode.
Now this is for an 08 so I don't know if it will be the same for a 2011, so remove the pin from the socket, and do not cut the wire. That way if it is different, you can still just reinsert the pin for an easy fix.

good luck and to TN
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dallasfan1968's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeneyp View Post
just as a quick idea, you could try and remove the pin for the reverse trigger wire.
This should be what the plug looks like on the back:

My documents I have say pin 2 is the reverse signal wire. I would think without the wire, it wouldn't know to go to the reverse mode.
Now this is for an 08 so I don't know if it will be the same for a 2011, so remove the pin from the socket, and do not cut the wire. That way if it is different, you can still just reinsert the pin for an easy fix.

good luck and to TN
Well...... it isn't the wire from pin 2. I took it over to my friends (Electronic Engineer) and we found the wiring diagrams. It looks like the data about the vehicle being in reverse is communicated from the vehicle computer to the MFD. According to my friend and the folks at Crutchfield the only way to what I want to do would be to have Toyota reprogram the settings for the display.

Thank you for your help.
dallasfan1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 06:34 PM   #4 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,019
Gameroom cash: $1404336
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 386
Thanked 1,087 Times in 857 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
I'm curious, was it this you were looking at? Its the electrical wire diagram. the 2 pin is the reverse pin from shifter switch. It has the reverse pin, video pins, then data pins from ECU.
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2012, 07:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: MN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dallasfan1968's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweeneyp View Post
I'm curious, was it this you were looking at? Its the electrical wire diagram. the 2 pin is the reverse pin from shifter switch. It has the reverse pin, video pins, then data pins from ECU.
I paid 12 bucks and downloaded the 2010 Highlander limited wiring diagram from Mitchel all data after I tried removing the red wire from pin 2 and it didn't work. I am open to any other suggestions that you may have.

Thanks!
dallasfan1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 03:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beijing
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Readeon's Photo Gallery
Hi dallasfan1968,

This is a HL2008 user from China.

According to the electrical wire diagram (local version in Chinese), I found there's a special grounded PIN18 on Combination Meter connector E1 of the "Limited" version which originally equips navigation. (As showed in the picture marked by a red circle. "*1" means equipped with navigation)



So i think this may be the signal telling MFD whether the car having navigation or not, that means Combination Meter accordingly decide whether activate the multifunction display or not while in reverse mode.

I think you could double check with your wiring diagram on hand and have a try of grounding PIN18.

Hope this may help.

Last edited by Readeon; 05-25-2012 at 02:40 AM.
Readeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 02:11 AM   #7 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beijing
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Readeon's Photo Gallery
Finally, I've disabled the MFD. Quite easy~

Readeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2012, 10:30 AM   #8 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,019
Gameroom cash: $1404336
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 386
Thanked 1,087 Times in 857 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
Readeon and I had been going back and forth via PM on this. So others know how to do this, here is what he did:

On the combination meter (its the main gauge cluster (speedo, odometer, etc... its actually the ECU that controls the MFD and a few other systems)) there is a single 40 pin plug. You have to ground pin 18, that disables the MFD from going into reverse video mode.


ALSO, if you are installing a OEM navigation headunit like Readeon did, you have to send a few wires from the MFD to the headunit

The REV (pin 2), V- (pin 15), CGND (pin 4), CA+ (pin 12), V+ (pin 14) need to be taken off the E11 socket for the MFD and sent to the navigation headunit. On non-nav equiped HL's they go to the MFD, on nav equiped ones, they are not there.
Here is the E11 socket for the MFD



As for where the video/rev wire go on the back of the navigation headunit...
The REV wire goes to socket E5 pin 5.

The 4 video wires all go to socket E4:
V+ (pin 22)
CA+ (pin 24)
CGND (pin 21)
V- (pin 23)
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited

Last edited by sweeneyp; 11-10-2013 at 11:29 AM.
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sweeneyp For This Useful Post:
Dog18s (08-19-2013)
Old 05-26-2012, 07:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Beijing
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Readeon's Photo Gallery
thanks Sweeneyp. you are so kind!
Readeon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 11:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
More Screens !
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 736
Gameroom cash: $552950
Thanks: 4
Thanked 53 Times in 49 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View kingnba6's Photo Gallery
if you dont know where or how to find the pin thing, you can always just run a cable from the reverse light to the navi
__________________
My 2004 Rav4 Thread (Clicky Clicky)

My 2009 Highlander Thread

2013 Prius C
-HIDs
-LEDs replaced all halogens
kingnba6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2012, 08:59 PM   #11 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: canada
Posts: 7
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View lyquyet's Photo Gallery
Hi all! like someone said we can remove the wire pin from old socket to new socket but DO NOT CUT THE WIRE.can anyone knows how to do that.I want to remove some pin from E11 to new socket...thank you
lyquyet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 11:28 AM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View LeeM2's Photo Gallery
I want to install a Rosen on a 2012 base (no MFD). Which wire do I use? thanks
LeeM2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 12:03 PM   #13 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,019
Gameroom cash: $1404336
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 386
Thanked 1,087 Times in 857 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeeM2 View Post
I want to install a Rosen on a 2012 base (no MFD). Which wire do I use? thanks
to do what? disable video on the MFD or tap into the oem reverse camera wires?
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 09:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View LeeM2's Photo Gallery
I don't have MFD, have only clock instead, not even thermometer. I want to connect backup camera to a Rosen. How do I make it work?

thanks

Last edited by LeeM2; 07-26-2012 at 09:36 PM.
LeeM2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2012, 10:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 7,019
Gameroom cash: $1404336
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 386
Thanked 1,087 Times in 857 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
Does your HL already have the OEM back up camera (I can't remember if it pops up in the rear view mirror on models without the MFD). If it doesn't you will have to add an aftermarket camera.
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.