Toyota Nation Forum banner

OEM Highlander radio connections

21K views 29 replies 9 participants last post by  jmuhammad 
#1 · (Edited)
I have a 2010 Highlander and just ordered a newer OEM radio online.
The new radio isn't the nav screen but has a lot better display than the one that came with my hl.
The new radio has two extra connections and I was wondering if anyone would help me out to what these connections are for. I would think that one of them is for the USB which I don't have and could live without.

The connections in question are the top two.

Hopefully this pic comes out below as to this is my first try.

Thanks,
Brad

See less See more
#4 ·
The top right one is your bluetooth mic connections. The blue should be the satellite antenna .

Now on the bottom row, the 2nd white one from the left. That should be empty. Unless you have the rear entertainment system, there shouldn't be a plug for that. Especially considering the new 2011+ headunit uses that connector for the multimedia ECU. USB is controlled by that ECU so you won't have that.

#5 ·
Thanks!

That leads me to a few more questions.
Will it have bluetooth audio streaming from phone if I don't connect mic to bluetooth port?
Where can I find a bluetooth mic that does connect to the port in case I do want to talk on phone via head unit?

I do have after market Audiovox Advent flipdown rear entertainment. I ran the audio out to the aux port on the front. Is there an adapter that goes from rca to the rear entertainment port on the head unit?

Don't care much about the satellite, but what are my options to have that added?

Since this unit is coming from Canada is there anything I should be aware of that might be set up different? Not sure if the radio freqs would be the same as here or anything else

Thanks!
Brad

#6 ·
I'm watching this thread with keen interest. I too have a 2010 base HL and bought the exact same head unit as the OP (pulled from a 2012).