Mic/wiring/buttons for bluetooth on OEM Highlander radio - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

2nd Generation (2008-2013) Forum dedicated to the discussion of 2nd generation Toyota Highlanders.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2013, 06:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
Posts: 18
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View blarose's Photo Gallery
Mic/wiring/buttons for bluetooth on OEM Highlander radio

Come on bluetooth!


Hopefully there is a radio guru on here that knows a way to accomplish the following:
I have a 2010 Base Highlander with an upgraded 2011 OEM base radio, p/n:86120-0E380-C0
The HL isn't bluetooth ready, no mic nor buttons on the steering wheel.
I am looking for the necessary components to hook up to the radios E32 port for the bluetooth functionality. I can run the mic and have an empty bay in the center console and dash to install the command buttons for the bt. I have been calling parts stores and dealerships trying to find a way with no luck.

Other option is to install the dealer's Blu-Logic Toyota interface. This comes with the switch buttons to install in the empty slots on the dash or center console. It also comes with the bluetooth interface, mic, and necessary wiring. I am trying to avoid this as to I have heard it creates a conflict with head units that already have bluetooth capabilities. Also, it only plays audio on front speakers which is ok for handsfree talking but not streaming audio. Maybe there is a way I can use the mic and button from this and bypass the bluetooth interface and go straight into the head unit.


Thanks in advance!
Brad
blarose is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-24-2013, 01:52 AM   #2 (permalink)
Resident Nutcase
 
sweeneyp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 6,999
Gameroom cash: $1400836
Blog Entries: 9
Thanks: 385
Thanked 1,084 Times in 855 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sweeneyp's Photo Gallery
I have no idea where you can get the OEM mic. Its kinda built into the map light cluster. Maybe you can find a junkyard and salvage one from a used HL. It will have 3 wires, you should be able to run them down to the headunit from there.

The button on the other hand is downright tricky. It is handled by 3 wires. They run to a network of resistors that is controlled by the steering wheel switches. The radio recognizes which button is pressed by what voltage it reads leaving that network. Its not something that can be done with a simple 12v switch. I have the specific voltage measurements needed for the 08-10 headunit, but I don't have one for the 2011. It could be the same, but I can't be sure. You could use resistors and build a simple voltage divider circuit to emulate it though.
__________________
Click Here for the Full List of Mods Done to My Highlander ---->>> 2008 FWD Highlander Limited
sweeneyp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 05:56 AM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Ben2881's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Whitby,ON, Canada
Posts: 187
Gameroom cash: $123300
Thanks: 7
Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Ben2881's Photo Gallery
Just to add my two cents...I had the blu logic Bluetooth installed in my hybrid. Had the "Econ mode" button moved to the spot where the TPMS button would normally go(my '09 didn't have one so it was an empty spot). That left a spot for the phone controls in the centre console. Very convenient because I use it often. The mic was installed on top of the steering column.

I know that's not exactly what you were asking, but just thought I'd share my experience.

By the way, the system works very well, connects immediately upon start-up and sound quality is good.

Dealer installed for about $450 after tax and extra labour for moving the switch.

A little expensive, but worth it to me, since I use it a lot, and plan on keeping the car for a long while.
__________________
2009 Highlander Hybrid
2008 CRV
Ben2881 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 07:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: TN
Posts: 33
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View HomerSaysDoh's Photo Gallery
This might help a bit...
http://www.trdsparks.com/install/PT9...1High-inst.pdf
HomerSaysDoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Truck, SUV and Van Forums > Highlander Forum > 2nd Generation (2008-2013)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.