i have recently posted up my wheels n tires on craigslist and various other classified ads and such... it's only been 2 days and i have been getting alot of responses..but they all seem the same and kinda shady. it all involve someone trying to buy my item using a cashier's check and having their "shipper" coming to pick up my stuff once i have cashed the check and such. i've read the scam thing they got posted on craigslist and it all seem to match. most involving cashier's check and using their own shippers. have anyone had any problem with this ? or have anyone done any transaction like this and it turned out fine?
i sold my psp on craigslist and rcvd several of the same responses...i immed deleted them. it took a few weeks, but i found a buyer and we met and he paid cash...
id delete those messages if i were you. just go with your gut man.
i had my street bike, dirt bike and trailer on there before and every time i would get the same type email, like you're talking about. How they would send me the money and they would arrange to have it picked up. the email always seem to start out t he same way too, like it would say "hello regards" or something similar to that. I would always give some smart ass reply back like " hey how about i send you the bike first and let you ride and see if you really want to buy it and if not ill pay to have it shipped back to me or you can just keep it and sell it for yourself". Ater that they never would respond back because i guess they knew i was on to them.
Dont fall for it, its tricky sometimes.
__________________
2006 TRD Sport 4x4 ~ Silver~265/75-16 Maxxis Bighorns,Bilstein 5100's,16x9 Moto Metals,BlackHeadlight & Emblems,tint,Parking & Blinker mod
i've gotten a lot of those too. just delete them. i love it when they offer ot pay more than the asking price to do it there way too. i always laugh at them but, i guess some people must fall for it-since they're still at it.
well this is my first time so i really didnt know what to expect.. at first i was kinda happy seeing how it was jus barely a day and i got like 4 responses wanting it. thanks alot guys. been really helpful.
I just sold a TV to one of these guys. I had to ship him the TV + a money order for $1000, but he promised me he'd send me $5000 once he received them. (Something about the exchange rate in Lithuania)
Tony, be very cautious on these sites. Anything that seems too good usually is.
__________________ My Pics
06 Access Cab SR5 4X4, OME 884s & Nitros, DAKAR leaf packs, 33" Cooper ATRs, MB Gunner 6's, Westin Bull Bar, PIAA 525s, Banks Monster Exhaust, Injen Powerflow Intake.........
"You can't have MANSLAUGHTER without LAUGHTER!"
I had something like that when I sold my other truck. Don't buy into it. If they won't call you or talk to you face to face it should hit you like a pile of bricks. Like I always say, Money talks and bullsh@t walks. If you're willing to hand me cash, its urs, you want to say check's in the mail, so's the truck, it comes in a nice $.12 envelope..
Mike
__________________
"Who does nothing makes no mistakes, who makes no mistakes learns nothing."
I've sold quite a few things on Craigs List, including a car. All transaction were cash. I wouldn't even respond to someone who wanted to pay any other way.
Good luck
__________________
2006 4x4 Access, V6, 6spd, TRD Off-Road, tow pkg. Donahoe Co's, TC UCA's, Dakar leafs, 5125's in the back and u-bolt flip kit. TRD exhaust, CAI. URD MAF calibrator. 17x9's, 285/70/17 BFG MT KM2. Locker-mod, fog mod and console vault.
I got the same e-mails man! That's crazy. I'm trying to sell some vintage rims and this dude said he was in Rohde Island or some crap. My wife was all excited and I told her, there's no way.
The AutoGuide.com network consists of the largest network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
AutoGuide.com provides the latest car reviews, auto show coverage, new car prices, and automotive news. The AutoGuide network operates more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share opinions as a community.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.