Farquea's fix and modification list - 95 Corolla DX - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

7th Generation (1993-1997) Specific discussion of the 7th generation

2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 20 Old 02-05-2017, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Farquea's fix and modification list - 95 Corolla DX

I had a thread with some questions going on at Car Noob Looking For Some Starter Advice but decided to start a new thread to track all my fixes and progress. It's worth noting that when it comes to cars my knowledge extends to checking the oil, tyre pressures and taking it to my mechanic every 6-12 months. I'm also starting with ZERO tools so this may be helpful for other complete novices like myself.

My car, a 95 DX, I bought her back in 2012 with 2 previous owners, a young family and an old lady from what I can gather. Bought for a tidy (I realise now) $1250CDN with 272,000k (now i know how high this I probably wouldn't have bought it) on the clock. However she has been a real rock for me over the 4 years, going from occasional use and doing a number of long journeys and in the last 2 years turned into a daily commuter, going 20 minutes to work and back in the city. Currently with 307,000k on the clock.

I've been through the list of service history that I have from myself and the PO and as much for my help, I've listed below the notable repairs done to date:
  • Distributor cap @ 254k April 2011
  • Spark plugs and wires @ 254k April 2011
  • Exhaust manifold @ 273k Nov 2012
  • 'Gaskets' (not sure what this actually means) @ 273k Nov 2012
  • Power steering hose and fluid @ 286k March 2015
  • New alternator @ 289k April 215
  • New battery @ 295k November 2015
The following is a list of recommended fixes that I chose not to do due to cost:
  • 'Motor mounts are worn our' @ 273k Nov 2015