Can't get key out! - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
7th Generation (1993-1997) Specific discussion of the 7th generation

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 09-22-2009, 10:01 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Can't get key out!

Hi everyone,

I can't get my key out of the ignition. I try to turn the key left to where you normally would so you can pull out the key but it's locked. It's stuck in the "ACC" position. Can please someone help me?

Thanks,

Chee
bboychee is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 09-23-2009, 12:44 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: santa clarita
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
shoot something in the cylinder. wd40 is prob the best idea.

edit: sure lucky it's in acc, because you can pull the lock out easily for replacement if the key won't come out.

97' Corolla, CE, 4AFE, 1.6, AT, 4d
2006 Tacoma, 2TR-FE, 5 speed, single cab

Last edited by kevmac; 09-23-2009 at 12:46 AM.
kevmac is offline  
#3 Old 09-24-2009, 11:53 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
key

yesterday i took out the ignition key switch and was able to take out the key, but when i put it back in it does the same thing over again. the key gets locked in the "ACC" position. i'm wondering if it's the ignition key switch? do i have to get new one with key?

chee
bboychee is offline  
#4 Old 09-26-2009, 09:50 PM
Only GOD Knows
 
trife96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
I know the key cylinder will not let you take the key out if the car is not set back in park. This may be causing the problem. In other words. for some reason it may be thinking the shifter is not set in park, even though obviously it is.

trife96 is online now  
#5 Old 09-26-2009, 10:14 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
for some odd reason, when i disconnect the battery, i can take out the key. but when i connect the battery again and turn the key, it gets locked in the "ACC" position. any answer to this? i just ordered a brand new key cylinder. maybe this could solve the problem...
bboychee is offline  
#6 Old 09-26-2009, 10:39 PM
Only GOD Knows
 
trife96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 1,614
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 37 Times in 37 Posts
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
this seems to confirm what I was saying. The locking mechanism for the shifter to be in the PARK position is malfunctioning. I'm not sure that the new cylinder will fix your problem unfortunately. I'm thinking it is the key interlock solenoid. Interested to here your findings.

trife96 is online now  
#7 Old 09-27-2009, 07:34 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
i'll tell you what happens after i recieve and install the new key cylinder. do you know where i can find the key interlock solenoid?
bboychee is offline  
#8 Old 09-29-2009, 10:20 PM
G'day mate
 
gold94corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Thanks: 225
Thanked 864 Times in 804 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Hi, my car just started having this problem as well! The key will go all the way over, except into the position to remove it.

Let me guess, you have an automatic? Me too, You know the button you push in on the side of the shifter? To get it out of park and all? Well, that pushes down on a rod inside the shaft, and on mine, that shaft gets stuck pushed down. But you see, I replaced the shifter with a manual one, mounted on top of the moveable rod. So, I just have to pull up hard on the shifter, or the rod, and it comes up and the key comes out. You would have to remove your shifter in order to do this, since you can't get to the rod otherwise.

I broke my key in the ignition trying to get it out, so I'm glad I figured it out lol. Hope this helps!
gold94corolla is offline  
#9 Old 09-30-2009, 10:03 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thanks 94goldcorolla! yesterday when i was playing around with my car i figure out another way that enabled me to get the key out. my car is automatic and i did change the shifter knob so i don't have to press a button, i just shift up or down. it looks really cool. i'll post up some pics of my rolla. but back to the problem, located below the key cylinder lock, there was a little black box screwed up to it. i unscrewed it and was able to pull out my key. it works normal now! =] i just left the black box hang out there. i wonder what that black box is and the function of it. i'm thinking it deals with something with security or safety.

Chee
bboychee is offline  
#10 Old 09-30-2009, 11:40 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
i'm thinking, maybe it is because of my new shift knob. i installed it so i don't have to push down on the knob to shift, i just shift up or down (makes shifting alot faster and looks cooler =]). the green lever inside the rod which enables the shifting, is always engaged or pressed down. it acts a safety lock and doesn't allow the key to come out when in parked position because the car is thinking it's not in park, but ready to shift. i'm thinking this relates to the little black box located under the key cylinder. the problem is solved. i'm gonna do some more tests to confirm it =]

thanks everyone,

chee
bboychee is offline  
#11 Old 10-01-2009, 08:07 PM
G'day mate
 
gold94corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Thanks: 225
Thanked 864 Times in 804 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Oh cool, so you fixed it? Yeah, that green thing needs to be pulled up, that's what I was talking about... mine was getting stuck down so the key wouldn't come out. But, just like today it stopped getting stuck... hmm. I had the black box off of the ignition, but just unscrewing it didn't help, did you disconnect it?
gold94corolla is offline  
#12 Old 10-01-2009, 10:34 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
yes i just unscrewed the little black box and it worked fine. also, the green lever is always pressed down from my new shift knob to enable a quicker shift =] if you looked closely at the black box, there is a little metal point that can be pushed up and down. maybe that deals something with the ignition but i'm unsure.
bboychee is offline  
#13 Old 10-02-2009, 07:17 PM
G'day mate
 
gold94corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9,825
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 589 Post(s)
Thanks: 225
Thanked 864 Times in 804 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
lol what do you need quick shift for? It stays in D..... I find that just having my hand on it pushes it down all the time, so I don't know why you need it always down....
gold94corolla is offline  
#14 Old 10-03-2009, 10:22 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: WI
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
with the shift knob always pressing down on the green lever, i can just shift up or down. i don't need to press a button or push on down on the knob to shift. =]
bboychee is offline  
#15 Old 10-03-2009, 10:25 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Bitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 8,316
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 557 Times in 521 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
its an automatic, it shifts for you...if you want to shift get a manual.
Bitter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 7th Generation (1993-1997)

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome