V6 powered Corolla - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
7th Generation (1993-1997) Specific discussion of the 7th generation

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-18-2012, 10:48 AM
Vivir el momento
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2,393 Times in 1,515 Posts
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
(Thread Starter)
V6 powered Corolla

Just an interesting video I found on youtube. Apparently it's running a 3VZ-FE V6 engine from a Camry.

PhatRoyale is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-18-2012, 10:57 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I'd attempt to do it, but everything is custom
Mawtin is offline  
#3 Old 11-18-2012, 12:38 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Bitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 8,203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 547 Times in 511 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That's a seriously heavy engine, a MZ series would have been a better choice.
Bitter is online now  
#4 Old 11-18-2012, 01:28 PM
Cody
 
Cody302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Any word on putting an 1MZ with a manual transmission? Pretty sure the V6 Camry's only came with automatic

Would love to a 1MZ with a manual when my 4AFE finally gives out, granted its only at 172K right now so theres hopefully a lot of life left
Cody302 is offline  
#5 Old 11-18-2012, 02:45 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Bitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 8,203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 547 Times in 511 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The PCM has two pins that are shorted to turn off any AT functions.
Bitter is online now  
#6 Old 11-18-2012, 05:14 PM
96 Toyota Corolla
 
kickfli12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Greensboro, North Carolina
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 57 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've been planning this swap for a while. My buddy who works in the bay next to me at Toyota used to do this stuff for a living and offered to do the mounts and wiring for me. I'm just waiting for my beetle to be road worthy so I can rip apart the corolla

Sent from my ADR6400L using AutoGuide.Com Free App


88-02 corolla parts for sale!
intermittent wipers, red stitched leather steering wheel, gauge faces, short shifter, and more!
kickfli12 is offline  
#7 Old 11-19-2012, 12:28 AM
JDM wheel whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You can use the 5 speed transmission from a Solara or MR2. E153 is the code name. If you do a v6 swap, do a 2GR. Otherwise you're wasting your time.
slowrolla is offline  
#8 Old 11-19-2012, 12:37 AM
Cody
 
Cody302's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Continuing on this same topic, anyone have any clue what the largest documented engine has been put into an AE100 body is?
Cody302 is offline  
#9 Old 11-19-2012, 03:58 AM
Token Aussie
 
Hiro Protagonist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 48 Times in 44 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody302 View Post
Any word on putting an 1MZ with a manual transmission? Pretty sure the V6 Camry's only came with automatic
Australia got manual V6 Camrys


Charlene - 1997 AE102 Conquest sedan: Let the JDM optioning begin
Billie - 1981 KE55 SE sedan: GONE
Rosie - 1986 AE82 Twincam Seca: GONE

Charlie - 1988 ST62 SX: GONE
Lexi - 1995 JZZ30 GT-T: Hunting n00bs in Skylines
Hiro Protagonist is offline  
#10 Old 11-19-2012, 07:01 AM
Vivir el momento
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18,704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2,393 Times in 1,515 Posts
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cody302 View Post
Continuing on this same topic, anyone have any clue what the largest documented engine has been put into an AE100 body is?
2JZ-GTE in AE101 (vids)
PhatRoyale is offline  
#11 Old 11-19-2012, 07:10 AM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Bitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 8,203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 547 Times in 511 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowrolla View Post
You can use the 5 speed transmission from a Solara or MR2. E153 is the code name. If you do a v6 swap, do a 2GR. Otherwise you're wasting your time.
You obviosuly haven't put the 2GR and 1MZ/3MZ side by size. The 2GR is MUCH taller and wider.
Bitter is online now  
#12 Old 11-19-2012, 08:27 PM
JDM wheel whore
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If they can put a 2gr in an MR2, then I'm sure you can do it in a Corolla.
slowrolla is offline  
#13 Old 11-19-2012, 09:02 PM
TN Post Wh*re
 
Bitter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 8,203
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 148 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 547 Times in 511 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by slowrolla View Post
If they can put a 2gr in an MR2, then I'm sure you can do it in a Corolla.
MR2 has that parcel shelf which can be cut out and rebraced. You also have no radiator or fans back there either. MR2 has more room to work with believe it or not.
Bitter is online now  
#14 Old 11-20-2012, 01:22 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: California
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Neat idea but seems kinda slow
Corollove is offline  
#15 Old 11-20-2012, 10:37 AM
AE-202 Owner
 
miib14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 1,369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 36
Thanked 31 Times in 30 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i was going to attempt this with a 1mz from a rx300 with a supercharger strapped to it

i may still do it

the 2gr is alot heavier iirc



★ 1993 Toyota Corolla Saloon ★
トヨタ 花
♥ AE-202 Owner ♥

All about N/A Power
195 Bhp & 148 lb/ft Torque

miib14 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 7th Generation (1993-1997)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome