The epic Old Clunky build thread! (95 1.6 5spd base Corolla) - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

7th Generation (1993-1997) Specific discussion of the 7th generation

409Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 598 Old 06-14-2014, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
The epic Old Clunky build thread! (95 1.6 5spd base Corolla)

Thank you all for a great forum. I've read a bunch in the last few days and see how very helpful and kind you all are. I've been turning wrenches and modding cars for many years now, I love cars and look forward to learning/improving this one.

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a 1995 Corolla 1.6 5spd with 151,001 miles for $1500. The car has had regular oil changes but that's about it. I don't think it had been washed in 10 years, and the clear coat on the hood is peeling. But I cleaned it up real nice, did a timing belt, the 2 center motor mounts, some brake work, a window tint, pinstripes, a DIY intake, some random plasti-dipping, and a bit of other odds and ends, and it's in decent shape. The good news is that it drives straight and smooth, the AC is ice cold, and everything works. Well, everything isn't much seeing that it doesn't even have a clock. But it's an endearing little car, my 2nd Corolla, and I like it.

I'm averaging 32mpg city and recently got 38mpg on a 330-mile highway trip. That's awesome.

I've got the major stuff done, next I'm on the hunt for a few used parts, such as a tachometer, rear view mirror, split folding rear seats, etc. I might do some interior LEDs and maybe headlights eventually. I'm heading to our local PullaPart next week to see what I can find.

I have a bunch of questions, but first here are a few pictures:

OK, here are my questions, please help if you can:

1. MOUNTS