Toyota Nation Forum banner

Clutch Replacement

3K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Acro_Raptor 
#1 ·
Well.. Its finally time to do a clutch on my Corolla. I have a 98 with 257,800 miles on the original clutch and it finally started to slip. Was wondering that.. Since its a 1zzfe.. Will a say.. Stage 1 for a celica gts/matrix xrs work? If so that opens up a huge number of possibilities. I have never done a clutch before and am doing it myself. According to O'Reillys they are compatible I just wanna be absolutely sure before pulling the trigger on it. I need one bad so buying this weekend. Many thanks!

I would do a search but for some reason the search bar doesn't work on my tablet or phone. And my PC is down.

#4 ·
At this point another OEM clutch would last longer than the rest of the car would.
I figure if you got that much out of an OEM then by the time you need a new one then the car will have over half a million miles on it.

#5 ·
Unfortunately it may be a moot point now. Since April I have had a dull roar like a wheel bearing going on. Hasn't been loud at all and since I couldn't afford it at the time I have driven on it. Well.. Thursday it got super loud. Took the car apart yesterday afternoon and its not a wheel bearing.. The transmission itself is what let go. So.. I gotta source a transmission before it fully dies. Till then.. Its my only car and I gotta work so I am gonna drive

it.https://youtu.be/5f9CK4ZAmJQ

#7 ·