2000 Corolla LE CD player AUX option - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
8th Generation (1998-2002) Specific discussion of the 8th generation

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-27-2008, 06:34 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Canada 2000 Corolla LE CD player AUX option

Hello guys.

I was wondering if you guys can help me out here. I'm looking to add an AUX input to the CD player in the car so I can listen to my mp3 player. This is because the Cd player doesn't play MP3 Cds and it also skips CDs a lot.

I have tried FM transmitters but their quality is terrible. I use to have a Civic, in which I installed a CD player for $200. This is only for the AUX option.

So guys is there any way to hooking up auxiliary input into the stock CD player that comes with 2000 Corolla LE?

if there are any hacks or something I can try out let me know. I would really appreciate that.

thanks
ricky_s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-27-2008, 07:08 PM
Beware of pigs
 
Buurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto - Madman City
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 76 Times in 67 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
If you have the same unit as I do (have a CD button), you can buy a line-in to CD adapter which plug into the CD changer port of the stock unit.

However, this may be one thing where the aftermarket offers better solution. My JVC deck (in my dad's car) has a proper line in where all I need to do is to connect anything I like to it using a male-male 3.5mm phone plug cable.
Buurin is offline  
#3 Old 11-27-2008, 08:29 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
would you happen to have an ipod?...cause canadian tire sells an fm transmitter for the ipod and works amazing! better than the ones at best buy etc...best of all its under 20 bucks.
r0lla5XRS is offline  
#4 Old 11-27-2008, 09:08 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Here's a picture I posted earlier in the forums. This shows a bit of the CD player, let me know if its the same one as yours Buurin



I would like to buy an after market but I'm strapped on cash right now. I do keep an out for sales on the players which offer AUX input, but I always end up paying for the installation. I have never done installation of a car stereo before, but if you or anyone else here on the forum has done it before, could you tell me if its easy, and how much work is involved in replacing stock with after market?

r0lla5XRS I have tried couple of transmitters from CT as well, but they all have some static.
ricky_s is offline  
#5 Old 11-27-2008, 09:13 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 117
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Hmmm better to get a aftermarket head unit.
aaronwt is offline  
#6 Old 11-27-2008, 09:35 PM
NoLa Rolla
 
gaj1967's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Luling, Louisiana
Posts: 609
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Thanks: 4
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
Installation is super easy. All you have to do is pop the bezel off from around the radio, remove four screws that hold the radio in, move the mounting brackets to the new radio, unplug the harness, wire up the harness to the new radio and install it.

If you order from Crutchfield they provied installation instructions and a free harness.

Gil

Did you search, here and on the internet, for your answer first? Chances are it was answered recently.
Re-read your post before submitting. Does it make sense to you?
Don't expect a response in two seconds. Nobody is getting paid for this.
gaj1967 is offline  
#7 Old 11-28-2008, 01:02 PM
Beware of pigs
 
Buurin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Toronto - Madman City
Posts: 2,318
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 16
Thanked 76 Times in 67 Posts
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
No, I have a tape deck (suck, I know). You need a soldering iron to assemble the harness tho. You can always cash and carry the unit and install it yourself. (if the store don't let you, walk away)
Buurin is offline  
#8 Old 11-28-2008, 01:28 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Corolla
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
check ebay...there seem to be a lot of non-FM transmitter units, but I'm not sure if they're compatible specifically with your deck

do you have a CD changer input?
Bhavesh is offline  
#9 Old 11-29-2008, 12:15 PM
2001 Rolla CE
 
circasurvive24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i have a 2001 rolla LE and im thinking of getting an aftermarket deck,any recomendations?
circasurvive24 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 8th Generation (1998-2002)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome