Noise after replacing rear brake shoes and drums...help! - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008)

9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008) 9th generation Corolla and 1st generation Matrix discussion.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 04:12 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View CorollaSD's Photo Gallery
Question Noise after replacing rear brake shoes and drums...help!

Regarding a 2004 Toyota Corolla: This is my first time using TN and need some help/suggestions with a knocking/ticking noise coming from both rear wheels after replacing with new drums/shoes. The noise becomes louder as well as faster when additional pressure is applied to the brake. Made sure the shoes were sitting correctly, that the springs are not touching other parts, that the wheels are secured tightly. Have also tried tightening and loosening the shoe width (so the drum either fits more loosely or more snug around the shoes). Has anyone had this issue? I did not replace the springs (as one toyota manual had suggested). Could this be the issue? Not sure what could be causing this.

Thank you for any and all suggestions.
CorollaSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-18-2010, 08:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
03' corolla 02' tundra

View alligatorgar's Photo Gallery
Check to make sure you have the correct drums. Have the drums turned to make sure they are true (completely round). Change out the springs with new ones. I used orieilys springs kit pt # hdw17373 for my 03 corolla.