06 Corolla cruise control not working - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008)

9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008) 9th generation Corolla and 1st generation Matrix discussion.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2012, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Ontario
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View joelv's Photo Gallery
06 Corolla cruise control not working

We have a 2006 Toyota Corolla Auto trans. that the cruise control doesn't work on. We've had it about 1.5 years and it has never worked in that time. It has a factory cruise control switch on it but when you try to use it not even the light on the dash comes on. It does have a poorly installed remote start system installed on it, that doesn't work right most of the time, and I assume it serves a big part in this problem. Where do I start on this issue? What wires should be checked? thabks for any help you can offer.
joelv is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-25-2013, 04:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View djpanik's Photo Gallery
i just bought a new switch on rock auto and it worked.
djpanik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jp233's Photo Gallery
#1 - check for blown fuses. I forget if the little cruise control stalk gets 12v separately.

#2 - definitely check on where the remote start clips into your wiring. They probably used scotch-lock connectors to splice into your wiring, those can become loose over time or can create small arcing over time. It is better to splice them properly, either using butt splices or the crimp-tops unless it is really impossible to get to.

#3 - you can check on the cruise control switch itself, pop the airbag off (2 screws underneath sides of horn/wheel), make sure that connection is good and that the switch itself actually works. If the cruise switch is dead or unplugged.... well "yep, there's your problem right there" (insert southern drawl here)
jp233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 02:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Lancaster, PA
Posts: 3,106
Gameroom cash: $980418
Thanks: 61
Thanked 254 Times in 234 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mikered30's Photo Gallery
Did you check the fuses? Check 22, 23, 26, 33. http://archer.uerev.com/misc/car/fuses.pdf

Do all of your brake lights work, even the one in the rear window? Make sure the brake fluid level isnt low, and this may sound dumb, but make sure the emergency brake is not engaged. Also, check the switch up above the break pedal, which disables the cruise control, maybe that switch is unplugged or bent or damaged. Does the light come on and stay on like normal, or does it flash?
mikered30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 03:01 PM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wax87's Photo Gallery
I have a manual Tranny, the Cruise control light comes on but the cruise control never latches, where should I start to look?
wax87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2013, 06:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 7,437
Gameroom cash: $1663401
Thanks: 960
Thanked 211 Times in 203 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View zythr's Photo Gallery
The Computer.
zythr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:26 AM   #7 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wax87's Photo Gallery
zythr, What do you mean the computer? You mean I need to R&R the computer or wire something into it, or wht?
wax87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2013, 07:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 7,437
Gameroom cash: $1663401
Thanks: 960
Thanked 211 Times in 203 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View zythr's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wax87 View Post
zythr, What do you mean the computer? You mean I need to R&R the computer or wire something into it, or wht?

I meant check out the computer since the computer controls the cruise control, thanks to the dive by wire system.
zythr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wax87's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by zythr View Post
I meant check out the computer since the computer controls the cruise control, thanks to the dive by wire system.
wax87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 04:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wax87's Photo Gallery
How do I do that? Am I looking for a code or something?
wax87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2013, 05:12 PM   #11 (permalink)
Now Hiring Co-Drivers
 
SaGa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 919
Gameroom cash: $235250
Thanks: 127
Thanked 140 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View SaGa's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wax87 View Post
How do I do that? Am I looking for a code or something?
Bring it to the dealer, or better yet, call ahead with your VIN and find out if the ECU recall was ever done on the car. If not, schedule an appointment to bring it in to have that done and mention that your cruise has been inoperable so they can ensure that it is working when they give the car back to you. You really can't (and shouldn't) mess with the computer yourself without the right equipment and knowing what you're doing.

Also, to the OP, it was suggested to you to check behind the airbag for any faulty wiring. Be sure to disconnect the connectors for both terminals of the battery and let it sit for at least 2 minutes to be sure the SRS system has deactivated. Airbags aren't cheap to replace, and you don't want to accidentally deploy them.
__________________
-SaGa

'03 CE Auto
SaGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2013, 04:15 AM   #12 (permalink)
Toyota Fanatic
 
hardtopte72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 7,304
Gameroom cash: $1184850
Thanks: 616
Thanked 2,298 Times in 1,698 Posts
Supreme Member
Garage
iTrader Score: 3 reviews
View hardtopte72's Photo Gallery
The cruise control uses its own separate ECU.

It sounds like a bad switch is your problem but you should make sure you are getting power to the switch.
__________________


My Toyota List:

1982 Corolla SR-5 Hardtop 1JZGTE R154
2005 Corolla CE Manual 1ZZFE
2009 Camry LE Auto 2AZFE

If I helped out in any way please hit the blue Thanks button on my post.
hardtopte72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 10:57 AM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Waxahachie TX
Posts: 35
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View wax87's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by hardtopte72 View Post
The cruise control uses its own separate ECU.

It sounds like a bad switch is your problem but you should make sure you are getting power to the switch.
Which switch? I am sure there is more than one.
wax87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 11:09 AM   #14 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 61
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View mjw357's Photo Gallery
Any blown fuses?
mjw357 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2013, 03:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Now Hiring Co-Drivers
 
SaGa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 919
Gameroom cash: $235250
Thanks: 127
Thanked 140 Times in 128 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View SaGa's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by wax87 View Post
Which switch? I am sure there is more than one.
The cruise control switch itself. He's referring to the stalk that you use for controlling the cruise control.
__________________
-SaGa

'03 CE Auto
SaGa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 9th Gen Corolla/1st Gen Matrix (2003-2008)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.