20V Blacktop Hesitation - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
6th Generation (1988-1992) Specific discussion of the AE92

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 05-24-2010, 05:40 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC. USA.
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
20V Blacktop Hesitation

I started this thread because I still had questions about the Blacktop hesitation, and we had alrady clutterd up the one about the C-52 gearbox with hesitation chatter.

C52 + 20v

I also thought it might help anyone doing a search later.

Anyway, for all those who have experienced the hesitation of a 20v Blacktop the question I have now is, were these cars running the stock airbox, anykind of airbox, an after market cone filter, or open trumpets?

'88 Corolla, AE92 SR-5, 7A-FE swap/GT-S suspension
'87 Corolla, AE82 FX-16, 4A-GZE swap (autocrosser)
'97 T-100, V6

Last edited by Donald; 05-24-2010 at 05:42 PM.
Donald is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 05-24-2010, 06:18 PM
BackYard Engineering
 
Evo_lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St.Lucia
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
My brother's car gets this hesitation, air box is still stock with generic autostore drop in filter inside. The car is entirely stock ae111 levin. The problem usually happens when the car isnt warmed up, around 3000rpm. I will try to get a vid sometime this week.

The only thing in life worse than being talked about is not being talked about

My website updated 6/May/11
http://budgetracer.webs.com/
Evo_lucian is offline  
#3 Old 05-24-2010, 10:29 PM
Official TN Member
 
rdyzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: minnesota
Posts: 899
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 55 Times in 48 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i ran with the t3 velocity stacks with itg filters. i tried everything. the funny thing was the engine ran best when the o2 sensor was unplugged. got a new 6 speed ecu and o2 sensor and it still did it on very slightly.

"driving safe doesn't mean driving slow"
91' mr2 with 3rd gen 3sge - SOLD
91' mr2 turbo - SOLD
96'paseo 40mpg DD!!!!!
90' corolla gts smallport engine FS... "levin front conversion" "current project" - BEAMS 3sge in the works

Last edited by rdyzz; 05-24-2010 at 10:30 PM.
rdyzz is offline  
#4 Old 05-25-2010, 06:22 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC. USA.
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evo_lucian View Post
My brother's car gets this hesitation, air box is still stock with generic autostore drop in filter inside. The car is entirely stock ae111 levin. The problem usually happens when the car isnt warmed up, around 3000rpm.
That's not very encouraging to hear.
I was thinking maybe it was running without the airbox or the plenum that was the problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdyzz View Post
i ran with the t3 velocity stacks with itg filters. i tried everything. the funny thing was the engine ran best when the o2 sensor was unplugged. got a new 6 speed ecu and o2 sensor and it still did it on very slightly.
Now that's confusing.

'88 Corolla, AE92 SR-5, 7A-FE swap/GT-S suspension
'87 Corolla, AE82 FX-16, 4A-GZE swap (autocrosser)
'97 T-100, V6
Donald is offline  
#5 Old 05-26-2010, 04:25 PM
BackYard Engineering
 
Evo_lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St.Lucia
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
If it makes any difference, the car has a broken o2 sensor. Don't know if that's the cause

The only thing in life worse than being talked about is not being talked about

My website updated 6/May/11
http://budgetracer.webs.com/
Evo_lucian is offline  
#6 Old 05-26-2010, 04:56 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC. USA.
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evo_lucian View Post
If it makes any difference, the car has a broken o2 sensor. Don't know if that's the cause
After reading what rdyzz posted, I am not so sure.

'88 Corolla, AE92 SR-5, 7A-FE swap/GT-S suspension
'87 Corolla, AE82 FX-16, 4A-GZE swap (autocrosser)
'97 T-100, V6
Donald is offline  
#7 Old 05-26-2010, 06:14 PM
Resident asshole
 
Flashmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 9,546
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
if the engine had aftermarket header then placement of the O2 sensor can cause issues with it... taking it off means the engine is running without closed loop correction, thus it alters the fueling slightly.
Flashmn is offline  
#8 Old 05-26-2010, 06:47 PM
BackYard Engineering
 
Evo_lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St.Lucia
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That sounds logical but i know of other owner of stock blacktops with stock headers and o2 sensor in tact that still get the hesitation. Rdyzz said he still had the hesitation with the o2 sensor so i really don't know. I have an o2 sensor to install on the car so after that i will see if the issue persists.

The only thing in life worse than being talked about is not being talked about

My website updated 6/May/11
http://budgetracer.webs.com/
Evo_lucian is offline  
#9 Old 05-26-2010, 08:33 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: The Hammer
Posts: 848
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
if anyone read that thread I posted about the green ae101 we blacktop swapped, his car is running stock itb box with generic cone filter, stock header and downpipe with gutted cat. all vacuum lines hooked up correctly and iscv working. He has put on about 5000km since we swapped it and only gets a slight hesitation when its cold in lower rpm's. And I think the best he got on 40L of gas has been almost 500km's.

WTB: Rear TRD sway bar for ae92
4doorGTS is offline  
#10 Old 05-27-2010, 04:59 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
AE92

just putting it out there my 4AF does this aswell when it's not warm but when it's hot it runs fine im running aftermarket headers and airfilter it has done it without all the aftermarket parts aswell
NZAE92 is offline  
#11 Old 05-28-2010, 01:53 AM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: WA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Is this common on blacktops? Or is it a hit or miss?

Someone on the 4ag forum believed its in the factory tune. And I found a thread on a different forum a while ago where they used a honda ecu and rigged up a honda dizzy and tuned it like that. Said its unbelievable how much better the car runs. just my two cents.

Edit:

Found it. May try on 4afe for boost.

http://forums.club4ag.com/zerothread...&postid=681332

Last edited by kwint; 05-28-2010 at 01:57 AM.
kwint is offline  
#12 Old 05-28-2010, 03:03 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC. USA.
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by NZAE92 View Post
just putting it out there my 4AF does this aswell when it's not warm but when it's hot it runs fine im running aftermarket headers and airfilter it has done it without all the aftermarket parts aswell
Might be timing off, or throttle position sensor.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kwint View Post
Is this common on blacktops? Or is it a hit or miss?

Someone on the 4ag forum believed its in the factory tune. And I found a thread on a different forum a while ago where they used a honda ecu and rigged up a honda dizzy and tuned it like that. Said its unbelievable how much better the car runs. just my two cents.

Edit:

Found it. May try on 4afe for boost.

http://forums.club4ag.com/zerothread...&postid=681332
This is very interesting, and if we could get more details it would be great. Does anybody know how to falsh a honda ecu?

'88 Corolla, AE92 SR-5, 7A-FE swap/GT-S suspension
'87 Corolla, AE82 FX-16, 4A-GZE swap (autocrosser)
'97 T-100, V6
Donald is offline  
#13 Old 05-28-2010, 04:29 PM
Rotary guy...
 
eage8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 67 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald View Post
This is very interesting, and if we could get more details it would be great. Does anybody know how to falsh a honda ecu?
it seems to me running a megasquirt (DIYPNP) is way easier... but I may be a bit bias

'01 Impreza 2.5 RS - Mud flaps, skid plates, Gravel Dampers
'89 RX-7 TurboII - Megasquirt-3 - 270 rwhp
'89 Corolla SR5 - 4AGE ST 20V 6spd LSD, Megasquirt II, Koni Race Dampers + GroundControls + camber plates F/R, GT-S Rear brakes
'81 BMW R65
For Sale: GT-S strut bar + Front GT-S koni yellows
eage8 is offline  
#14 Old 05-28-2010, 08:13 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Donald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Greensboro, NC. USA.
Posts: 3,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 8
Thanked 36 Times in 35 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eage8 View Post
it seems to me running a megasquirt (DIYPNP) is way easier... but I may be a bit bias
I strongly believe you are right!!

'88 Corolla, AE92 SR-5, 7A-FE swap/GT-S suspension
'87 Corolla, AE82 FX-16, 4A-GZE swap (autocrosser)
'97 T-100, V6
Donald is offline  
#15 Old 05-28-2010, 08:42 PM
BackYard Engineering
 
Evo_lucian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: St.Lucia
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 8 Times in 7 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Chipping kit only $19.50
http://www.xenocron.com/chipping-kit...cus-p-277.html

How to chip the ecu

Base maps are readily available online for free. This seems to be a much easier and cheaper option than megaquirt. Go to junk yard, pull ecu,harness, and sensors from honda. Wire it up tp 4ag, probably might be less work than wiring up a megasquirt if you don't get the pnp. Chip ecu, download a basemap and tune away. If a friend didn't offer me a free emanage blue i might have attempted to do this on my 4agte

The only thing in life worse than being talked about is not being talked about

My website updated 6/May/11
http://budgetracer.webs.com/
Evo_lucian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 6th Generation (1988-1992)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome