location of engine coolant temp sensor - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
6th Generation (1988-1992) Specific discussion of the AE92

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 08-30-2010, 08:09 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Question location of engine coolant temp sensor

(1989 corolla wagon carbed)
Ok I looked all over the place, I went down to the parts store and got the sensor but I cant find it! I looked all over under the distributor next to the fan switch there are only 2 sensors there the fan switch and a small sensor just above the fan switch around 11 0'clock but its tiny compared to the sensor I got from the parts store.
Can any one tell me where the engine coolant temp sensor is located?

Last edited by devo; 08-30-2010 at 10:51 PM.
devo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-30-2010, 10:36 PM
Official TN Member
 
plyr503's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: portland,oregon
Posts: 91
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
That sensor that you call a fan switch I think is the sensor you probably bought. Just had an issue with my stepfathers fan staying on all the time, it was the coolant temp sensor/switch located on the thermostat housing........
plyr503 is offline  
#3 Old 08-30-2010, 10:49 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by plyr503 View Post
That sensor that you call a fan switch I think is the sensor you probably bought. Just had an issue with my stepfathers fan staying on all the time, it was the coolant temp sensor/switch located on the thermostat housing........
I have both I changed this one already this is the fan switch

this is the engine coolant sensor that I cant find the location have no clue where it is. its not next to the fan switch and its not on the radiator.

Last edited by devo; 08-31-2010 at 10:47 AM.
devo is offline  
#4 Old 08-31-2010, 03:03 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: OH
Posts: 1,271
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 105 Times in 103 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
As mentioned it is in or around the area of thermostat housing (drivers side of engine).
Follow the radiator hose up to it and you will find it. Be sure to replace the stat and flush the cooling system out and install new coolant. That probably accounts for most of the problems you are having. If the sensor you find in that area is different than the one you were sold they may have given you the wrong one.

Last edited by 90 GP; 08-31-2010 at 04:02 AM.
90 GP is offline  
#5 Old 08-31-2010, 09:02 AM
Rotary guy...
 
eage8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 67 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
what are you trying to fix?

I can look at my 4A-F on an engine stand later and see if I can find it or what you're supposed to be replacing.

'01 Impreza 2.5 RS - Mud flaps, skid plates, Gravel Dampers
'89 RX-7 TurboII - Megasquirt-3 - 270 rwhp
'89 Corolla SR5 - 4AGE ST 20V 6spd LSD, Megasquirt II, Koni Race Dampers + GroundControls + camber plates F/R, GT-S Rear brakes
'81 BMW R65
For Sale: GT-S strut bar + Front GT-S koni yellows
eage8 is online now  
#6 Old 08-31-2010, 10:44 AM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 90 GP View Post
As mentioned it is in or around the area of thermostat housing (drivers side of engine).
Follow the radiator hose up to it and you will find it. Be sure to replace the stat and flush the cooling system out and install new coolant. That probably accounts for most of the problems you are having. If the sensor you find in that area is different than the one you were sold they may have given you the wrong one.
Ok I will check on that, the only things I see around that area are temp sending plug (this has a spade connector with only one wire), and the fan switch (round white connector) no temp sensor unless the fan switch is the temp sensor? lol this is confusing!.

Quote:
Originally Posted by eage8 View Post
what are you trying to fix?

I can look at my 4A-F on an engine stand later and see if I can find it or what you're supposed to be replacing.
Cool thanks I am trying to get rid of some codes
22-engine coolant temp sensor
31-air flow meter signal (vacuum sensor signal)
41-Throttle position sensor
devo is offline  
#7 Old 08-31-2010, 10:54 AM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by plyr503 View Post
That sensor that you call a fan switch I think is the sensor you probably bought. Just had an issue with my stepfathers fan staying on all the time, it was the coolant temp sensor/switch located on the thermostat housing........
You may be right I am starting to think the fan switch sends a signal the the relay and the ECU I dont think there is a separate engine coolant sensor.
devo is offline  
#8 Old 08-31-2010, 11:17 AM
Rotary guy...
 
eage8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: MD
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 67 Times in 65 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by devo View Post
You may be right I am starting to think the fan switch sends a signal the the relay and the ECU I dont think there is a separate engine coolant sensor.
a switch is exactly that, a switch. it's either on or off, it cannot send a signal to the ECU to tell it what the temperature is.

'01 Impreza 2.5 RS - Mud flaps, skid plates, Gravel Dampers
'89 RX-7 TurboII - Megasquirt-3 - 270 rwhp
'89 Corolla SR5 - 4AGE ST 20V 6spd LSD, Megasquirt II, Koni Race Dampers + GroundControls + camber plates F/R, GT-S Rear brakes
'81 BMW R65
For Sale: GT-S strut bar + Front GT-S koni yellows
eage8 is online now  
#9 Old 08-31-2010, 12:10 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by eage8 View Post
a switch is exactly that, a switch. it's either on or off, it cannot send a signal to the ECU to tell it what the temperature is.
Ok so back to my question than where is that freakin sensor
devo is offline  
#10 Old 08-31-2010, 12:59 PM
Official TN Member
 
SuLLiVaN88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 323
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by devo View Post
Ok so back to my question than where is that freakin sensor
follow your radiator hose to a piece of metal that will look dome shaped. that is the thermostat housing
just remember it connects to the end of one of the radiator hoses and there is only two main ones so just folllow them till you find it

PICKUP PARTS!http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showthread.php?p=3351792#post3351792
SUPRA PARTS!
http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/sh...d.php?t=360413
SuLLiVaN88 is offline  
#11 Old 08-31-2010, 01:44 PM
Official TN Member
 
Blof-fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
Let me help you out



It is screwed in to the thermostat housing, on the drivers side of the engine head.



It's a bit hard to see, it's under the ignition, but as already mentioned: follow the hose to the thermostat housing and you'll find it

Good luck!

Driving : '92 Toyota T19 Carina E GTi
Repairing : '92 Toyota AE92 Corolla Hatchback GTSi
Restoring : '88 Toyota AE92 Corolla Coupé GT-S

My personal website: http://www.corollaae92gts.nl
Blof-fan is offline  
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Blof-fan For This Useful Post:
devo (09-01-2010), SiennaCruza (09-19-2011)
#12 Old 08-31-2010, 02:35 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blof-fan View Post
Let me help you out



It is screwed in to the thermostat housing, on the drivers side of the engine head.



It's a bit hard to see, it's under the ignition, but as already mentioned: follow the hose to the thermostat housing and you'll find it

Good luck!
YEA! thats it! thanks man I owe you one big time.
devo is offline  
#13 Old 08-31-2010, 03:08 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
So there is just the temp sender and the fan switch. The sensor they gave me must be for the EFI there is a lot of cross referencing going on at the auto parts store ok so I am going to install the fan switch and the sending unit and I need to go get a thermostat too thanks guys I really appreciate all your help.

Dean
devo is offline  
#14 Old 09-01-2010, 11:24 AM
Official TN Member
 
Blof-fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 7
Thanked 26 Times in 25 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
No problem

Driving : '92 Toyota T19 Carina E GTi
Repairing : '92 Toyota AE92 Corolla Hatchback GTSi
Restoring : '88 Toyota AE92 Corolla Coupé GT-S

My personal website: http://www.corollaae92gts.nl
Blof-fan is offline  
#15 Old 09-06-2010, 01:37 PM
Official TN Member
 
devo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: los angeles
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 13
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Oh just for future reference this is the switch that was in my 89' not the one they sold me. BUT the one they sold me fit and works perfectly and was $20.00 cheaper!
Here is a pic of the switch I took out.

This is the one they sold me

Last edited by devo; 09-06-2010 at 01:38 PM.
devo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 6th Generation (1988-1992)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome