Cluster issues - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 6th Generation (1988-1992)

6th Generation (1988-1992) Specific discussion of the AE92

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-08-2012, 08:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Finnish_EK_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 272
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Finnish_EK_Racer's Photo Gallery
Cluster issues

so while i was at work today and it was slow, i tried to figure out the pinning....but no luck.

I have a LE cluster with tach in my 4AF wagon but can't get the tach to work. There is an oem plug with a oem blockoff (green plug which i think is the signal wire) and the interior harness should be all the same wiring for a 4afe. there just isn't a connector on the engine harness to plug into that dizzy wire. where does that wire lead to in the original 4afe harness? i'd like to run a wire for the signal into the interior to whatever connector it connects to.

the second question is the coolant temp gauge, i'm thinking the 4af only had a 2 wire sending unit, and the afe is a 3 wire. the gauge (when switched on) just shoots up to H, no accurate reading. Is there a difference in that wiring for certain? i'd like to get this gauge spot on before i drive it from chicago to OOB, Maine.

text me 574 276 0455 if you can help, or just post here.

thanks for any advice guys.
Finnish_EK_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-09-2012, 07:58 AM   #2 (permalink)
Living on a Rock
 
kaitaiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: 808 解体屋
Posts: 1,718
Gameroom cash: $299150
Thanks: 45
Thanked 108 Times in 107 Posts
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
View kaitaiya's Photo Gallery
here's some wiring diagrams for your car(not sure what year so here's the 3 different years)
88 - http://opc.mr2oc.com/online_parts_ca...CorollaFWD.pdf
89 - http://opc.mr2oc.com/online_parts_ca...CorollaFWD.pdf
90-92 - http://opc.mr2oc.com/online_parts_ca...CorollaFWD.pdf
__________________
解体屋 Just a gearhead in paradise...

93 JDM AE102 20V Blacktop Blacktop Wiring DIY
The Somewhat tips and trick to the install


Proper Planning and Preparation Prevents P*** Poor Performance.
kaitaiya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Finnish_EK_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 272
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Finnish_EK_Racer's Photo Gallery
christ this is gonna suck...granted i think all i need to do is just connect the blocked off plug to the connector behind the boot in the firewall.
Finnish_EK_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 10:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: trini
Posts: 27
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View toyo92's Photo Gallery
i am having the same problem..i had a 5af..and got the LE panel with tach...i am also getting the gt panel (the long one) , but i think that will be even more work
with the LE panel i connected everything.. one of the indicators stayed on the entire time...the fuel was off..the speedo worked..i think mainly because it works with the cable..the temp was off also..since then i switched to the 4afe but i dont think the electrician hooked up any of the wires..since he used the old panel...i want to change the panel..so i am lookin for the dash harness to go with the LE panel..i think any of the corollas up to the ae111 should work..hoping it would be a simple job or connecting wires and well installing new ones that were not there
toyo92 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Finnish_EK_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 272
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Finnish_EK_Racer's Photo Gallery
i think swapping an LE dash harness across should clear up any issues...
i tried a direct pin from the blockoff connector, and turned out it was a signal wire of some sort for the jdm power options.
Finnish_EK_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > 6th Generation (1988-1992)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:20 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.