Toyota Nation Forum banner

How many go for "Joy Rides" and how long

3K views 25 replies 13 participants last post by  W57thNY 
#1 ·
I live in an area where I can drive in the desert or mountain roads. Paved roads go as high as about 10,000 ft above sea level. I live at 5500 ft in the high desert next to 12,000 ft mountains.

I love to drive. I drove professionally for over 10 years. Mostly large trucks and concrete mixers.

At least once per week I go for a "Joy Ride" I usually drive 1-2 hours. Mileage varies. I was wondering if there are more like me who drive for pleasure. I am a photographer, so I take pictures where I go. Sometimes I just listen to music, and sometimes I like to simply listen to the sounds of the engine and car. I love it. Do you also like to pleasure drive....

#3 · (Edited)
I don't blame you with a commute that far. I used to take my 2002 Tacoma for drives, but the Corolla is much smoother riding and a pleasure to drive. I like the CVT. It seems contrary to a driving enthusiast but I like NOT having to worry about a manual transmission I have driven 10 speeds mostly in trucks. I think there was a 12 speed for a while and also as many might not know.....many large truck now have Allison automatic transmissions. (and other brands) For about 3-4 years I drove a truck with a 6 speed Allison transmission. It was amazing it could withstand the immense weight and stress. I actually tested the first Allison automatic transmissions off road for the company back in 1996. I was working on a LARGE project and it was all off road. They worked out some bugs thanks to me and a few others.

Thanks for the answer.

Sorry I posted in wrong area. It should have been in the lounge not the 11th gen Corolla/Matrix. This applies to all drivers. Not just the same car as I have.

#4 ·