Aftermarket Stereo in 2006 Avalon - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 1st Generation (1995-1999)

1st Generation (1995-1999) Specific discussion of the first generation Toyota Avalon

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-07-2006, 10:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Potential Avalon Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View crowemojo's Photo Gallery
Question Aftermarket Stereo in 2006 Avalon

I've seen various forms of this question floating around but no clear answer. I am on the verge of purchasing an '06 Avalon Limited (without NAV), but the only thing that is holding me back is the lack of bluetooth support, MP3 CD Playback Capabilities, and well integrated iPod connectivity (Not just an Aux. input). I've gone to 2 separate car audio specialists and they both have informed me that putting in an aftermarket stereo that will make use of the JBL 12 speaker system while preserving the climate controls is extremely difficult (and as a result, expensive).

There are several different aftermarket units that have all of the capability that I want to have, but what I need to know is where to go for a wireing harness or kit that can be placed in the Avalon without having to do major wiring overhauls to use the amp and preferably without having to go through tons of trouble due to how the climate controls are situated.

So, to sumarize, what is the easiest way to install an aftermarket stereo into an '06 Avalon Limited? Has anyone had any luck with this? I don't mind spending a bit of cash to get it done, as long as it is done right, looks good, and isn't stupid-expensive.

Any info is greatly appreciated, I just need to know that this is feasible and relatively affordable and I'll go pick up that car tomorrow!
crowemojo is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to crowemojo For This Useful Post:
datboyjames (03-20-2011)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 06-08-2006, 01:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Placentia, CA
Posts: 92
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View jag_man653's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by crowemojo
I've seen various forms of this question floating around but no clear answer. I am on the verge of purchasing an '06 Avalon Limited (without NAV), but the only thing that is holding me back is the lack of bluetooth support, MP3 CD Playback Capabilities, and well integrated iPod connectivity (Not just an Aux. input). I've gone to 2 separate car audio specialists and they both have informed me that putting in an aftermarket stereo that will make use of the JBL 12 speaker system while preserving the climate controls is extremely difficult (and as a result, expensive).

There are several different aftermarket units that have all of the capability that I want to have, but what I need to know is where to go for a wireing harness or kit that can be placed in the Avalon without having to do major wiring overhauls to use the amp and preferably without having to go through tons of trouble due to how the climate controls are situated.

So, to sumarize, what is the easiest way to install an aftermarket stereo into an '06 Avalon Limited? Has anyone had any luck with this? I don't mind spending a bit of cash to get it done, as long as it is done right, looks good, and isn't stupid-expensive.

Any info is greatly appreciated, I just need to know that this is feasible and relatively affordable and I'll go pick up that car tomorrow!
I can't answer your question, but will raise a new one for you. I briefly considered getting an XLS w/o NAV and installing an aftermarket NAV. Gave up because of the curved lower edge of the Avalon stereo. It would be nearly impossible to neatly fit an aftermarket anything in that hole.

Ed
jag_man653 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Potential Avalon Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View crowemojo's Photo Gallery
Yeah, for all the trouble this seems to be, I'm starting to consider getting an older higher end car and adding everything in aftermarket with ease, like an 01 LS430 or something along those lines. It seems rediculous that the Avalon doesn't have these features available when all other cars in its class do.
crowemojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2006, 05:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
X Avalon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View hsakuragi's Photo Gallery
type this in ebay "99-8215"

I'm looking for the double din navi other then my OEM navi...
hsakuragi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 07:11 AM   #5 (permalink)
Potential Avalon Owner
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View crowemojo's Photo Gallery
Awesome! That's half the battle right there! Thank you for the information. For a great double-din navi system, by the way, check out the Pioneer AVIC-Z1... it's incredible!

http://www.crutchfield.com/S-mcIpHdR...50&I=130AVICZ1
crowemojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 11:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
X Avalon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View hsakuragi's Photo Gallery
This item does not fit

hsakuragi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 11:18 AM   #7 (permalink)
X Avalon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View hsakuragi's Photo Gallery
Sucks for the poeple with Navi

Installation Details for your 2005 Avalon

» A wiring harness is not available. You will need to splice into the factory wires.
» Bypass your factory amp by running new speaker wires from the stereo to the output side of your factory amp.
» The factory amp is located beneath the passenger seat.
» A receiver mounting kit is needed to install an aftermarket receiver.
» The factory navigation will still operate, but the voice guidance system will be lost.
» Because of the configuration of the factory dash, flip out monitors may not work in this vehicle.
» You'll get free lifetime tech support for as long as you own your gear!
hsakuragi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 05:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View 05touringavalon's Photo Gallery
Re: aftermarket radio

I've got an 05' Touring avalon... I scoured the net for something to integrate my IPOD to my system. Nothing worked... having the in-dash 6-disc changer screwed me over, and there's no auxiliary output either. So my only alternative was to get an aftermaket deck that was IPOD ready. I ended up getting the Alpine CDE-9852. I ordered it from cruchfield, it came with the harness and install kit to make it fit. I didn't upgrade to the JBL system when I bought the car, so I'm unsure if I've got an amp to bypass. But from what I'm told, if you get a quality head unit, it will out perform the stock amp (assuming all avalons have an OEM amp.) Can anyone tell me if all avalons come with an amp? Or do you have to upgrade to the JBL system to get one? I'll be installing my new head unit this weekend and I'll update on how it turned out.
05touringavalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 08:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northeast usa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View it'sme's Photo Gallery
Thanks for the information! I'd love to upgrade the crappy HU in my 2006 Touring but I'm afraid to screw it all up with all the controls on the steering wheel as well as the hvac info apparently filtering through the HU and then showing on the LCD screen. Got a great price on this car, has all the upgrades except for JBL and Navi. Has the JBL 6 CD changer which sounds pretty good (I can live with it) - much better than the regular stereo. SO the speakers must be OK (except there's nothing on the back deck, only 4 on the rear doors). Ideally, I;d like to go Sirius but would need a different HU as the one installed (Fujitsu Ten) is not satellite ready. Reception on it is pretty awful as well.

Please let me know how you made out with your install. I'm thinking if it's a fairly easy install I would be inclined to go with one of the Eclipse models ....

I get a different story from each aftermarket place I go to and none of them have done work on an Avalon (I suspect most Avalons have the JBL upgrade), lots of camrys though. Would be nice to talk to someone else with this problem.
it'sme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 08:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: northeast usa
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View it'sme's Photo Gallery
One more thing 05touringavalon, the receiver you are installing plays CD's --- so what do you (we!) do with the already installed JBL 6 CD changer? I'm really stupid about this stuff but I'm not afraid to try to do this myself if it isn't too complicated. You are giving me hope that I won't be stuck with the factory HU sound forever.
it'sme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 12:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View 05touringavalon's Photo Gallery
installing aftermaket HU

Man.... so there's good news and bad news. The good news first , my new Apline HU sounds great. Very impressed with the sound quality, way more powerful and cleaner.

Now the bad, my frickin LCD is dead. It's still illuminated blue, but there's no data. From my understanding, I was only supposed to lose the top line with all the CD info, but now the cabin and outside temps are no longer visible, as well as my vent settings, MPG average, and miles left on my tank. Everything else still works (A/C, defroster, etc) with the exception of the audio steering wheel controls. I'll be back at it when I get home from work, and hopefully crutchfield can help me out.
05touringavalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2006, 08:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
X Avalon
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: CA
Posts: 316
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View hsakuragi's Photo Gallery
good luck man!
hsakuragi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 11:58 AM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View 05touringavalon's Photo Gallery
All bad...

Man, things have gotten worse and now I've resorted to putting my OEM deck back in and taking my beloved avalon to the local dealership. My data screen and clock are no longer operational, and when I try to adust the audio settings, the radio just switches to another station. Crutchfield was no help. It was their suggestion I tell the dealership I disconnected my battery and now my data screen and clock are not working.

On the OEM deck, there are four connectors behind it. The harness from crutchfield only uses two, one to power the deck and front speakers, and the other to power the rear speakers. The other two connectors are supposedly for the tape deck and steering wheel audio controls. There's gotta be a data line within those connectors, but in my situation the whole screen's gone black and my clock isn't working. Maybe I should have gotten my deck installed professionally. I don't know... I'm just plain frustrated and tired. I just want my system working again.

Anyone have any suggestions? ANYTHING at this point is worth a shot..... damn, all this just I can have my IPOD in my car.

Last edited by 05touringavalon; 06-13-2006 at 11:59 AM.
05touringavalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 12:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Avalon Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 552
Gameroom cash: $160615
Thanks: 2
Thanked 95 Times in 77 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View inov8's Photo Gallery
Have you checked applicable fuses and tried pressing the display mode button located below and to the right of the screen?

The connector for the steering wheel controls also includes 2 display data lines.
The wire colors to the steering wheel are orange, black, violet; while the data wires to the display are yellow and black.
inov8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2006, 05:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View 05touringavalon's Photo Gallery
I brought it to the dealership earlier this morning, they said it'll be ready for pick-up later this evening.... I don't know if I should try to hook my alpine hu back up or just abort the mission all together...
05touringavalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 1st Generation (1995-1999)

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2006 Avalon Problem Starting loliver 1st Generation (1995-1999) 7 06-02-2006 12:22 AM
2006 Highlander 6-disc JBL stereo HighlanderHybrd 1st Generation (2001-2007) 3 02-20-2006 10:19 AM
Camry to Avalon Aftermarket Swaps AznFiend General Discussion 8 04-11-2005 10:47 AM
Any aftermarket available for a 96 Avalon? trd4life 1st Generation (1995-1999) 8 04-01-2002 03:46 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.