How to change the thermostat in a 95 Avalon - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
1st Generation (1995-1999) Specific discussion of the first generation Toyota Avalon

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-20-2007, 04:19 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
How to change the thermostat in a 95 Avalon

Anyone know how to do this? I am familiar with American cars but, I don't even know where it is on the Avalon. The heat takes a long time to get hot and then never gets real hot, I assume it is the thermostat?

95 Avalon
pjcammi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-23-2007, 11:24 PM
Avarollin?
 
Jigg007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Island Lake, Illinois
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 12
Thanked 44 Times in 41 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
You know that tiny vent, a little bit right from the ignition? that vent has the thermostat sensor in it. I remeber finding it and wondering why it was so dirty. Try cleaning it, see if that fixes your problem.

Jigg007's 1996 Toyota Avalon
250A Alternator
2500W AC Inverter
3200W Sound system
Windows 7 Carputer
Onboard Air System
D2 Street Coilovers
Jigg007 is online now  
#3 Old 11-23-2007, 11:32 PM
Napa Burgundy '98 Avy
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
are you talking about the thermostat in your cooling system in the engine?

if you are talking about the climate controls, i dont see why the thermostat would matter since the temperature is just selectable in the dial and doesnt regulate itself based on the ambient temp in the car

Last edited by cexsiman; 11-23-2007 at 11:34 PM.
cexsiman is offline  
#4 Old 11-25-2007, 09:07 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by cexsiman View Post
are you talking about the thermostat in your cooling system in the engine?

if you are talking about the climate controls, i dont see why the thermostat would matter since the temperature is just selectable in the dial and doesnt regulate itself based on the ambient temp in the car
Yes the thermostat in the cooling system in the engine.

95 Avalon
pjcammi is offline  
#5 Old 11-25-2007, 10:11 PM
Napa Burgundy '98 Avy
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Florida
Posts: 388
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
i havent looked at where my thermostat is, but its got to be similar to american cars. i have changed a few on domestics before as well, id say follow the hose of the raidator to the block, and its probally there. check the owners manual if you have it, it would most likely in there, i'll look at mine tomorrow and see what i can find. heck its probally on one of the stickers under the hood. check that too. it wouldn't be something too hard to get to is my guess tho.

Last edited by cexsiman; 11-26-2007 at 01:26 PM.
cexsiman is offline  
#6 Old 11-25-2007, 11:18 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: middletown,ri
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
dont follow the top radiator hose that just leads to the goose neck where you put coolant in. follow the bottom radiator hose, on the d/s of the engine. you will have to take the air intake off to gain easy access to the tstat housing. should only be 3 nuts that hold tsat housing on.
sheepwundr is offline  
#7 Old 11-28-2007, 08:32 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sheepwundr View Post
dont follow the top radiator hose that just leads to the goose neck where you put coolant in. follow the bottom radiator hose, on the d/s of the engine. you will have to take the air intake off to gain easy access to the tstat housing. should only be 3 nuts that hold tsat housing on.
Thanks, I had already looked at the top hose, didn't look to me like it was there. I will follow the bottom hose.

95 Avalon
pjcammi is offline  
#8 Old 11-28-2007, 08:36 PM
97 Avalon Silver Spruce
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
+2 follow the lower rad hose to the engine, its very unassuming, but its in there, after you remove the 3 screws
parimento1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 1st Generation (1995-1999)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome