1996 Avalon Front Strut Replacement - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
1st Generation (1995-1999) Specific discussion of the first generation Toyota Avalon

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 06-11-2009, 03:59 PM
New TN User

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Question 1996 Avalon Front Strut Replacement

Hello All,

I'm needing to replace my front struts on my '96 Avalon with 152,000 miles. Question: Should I go with the complete units that Monroe offer ($225-$250) or go with KYB struts, boots, mounts and use the original spring? Would I save much money that way? I do see that compared to Monroe and KYB for just the strut alone, the KYBs are about %40 higher. Should I assume KYB will give me a firmer ride?

Also, how much time should I allow for replacing the two front struts? I'm a competent shade tree mechanic but have never done a strut job.

Thanks for your insight,
Jack
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 06-11-2009, 09:14 PM
Official TN Member

I dont know exactly everything between the comparisons but take a look at this thread it should help you

And dont worry if it says camry, because they use the same suspension as the avalon

Gen 3 Suspension Options
#3 Old 06-12-2009, 11:02 PM
Avarollin?

Well, my father is an ASE mechanic and he had the right tools for the job. Me and him were able to do it, was about 2~ hours. I do a lot of light repairs myself, and as long as you have the tools it does not seem like a huge task to take on. Keep in mind you are going to need an alignment when the suspension is modified.

I just put on new Monroe mounts, Moog coil springs and KYB struts. I must say I like it a lot! I can tell the performance of the struts seem to change on temperature. But I've just installed them and the temperature in lovely Illinois has been swinging from 40 to 90 degrees recently.