Transmission Problem 97 Avalon - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 1st Generation (1995-1999)

1st Generation (1995-1999) Specific discussion of the first generation Toyota Avalon

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-27-2005, 07:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User

iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View GarWil99's Photo Gallery
Transmission Problem 97 Avalon

Hello everyone. I'm new to ToyotaNation, and would like your help. About to pull my hair out with this problem. We own a 97 Avalon....the best car we've ever owned until now. Never had the first minutes problem with this car until now. About a month ago the "check engine" light came on and I had it read. P0773 - Shift Solenoid E - Electrical. So, I called my Toyota mechanic who referred me to a local transmission shop which I took it to. They ran diagnostics and did what they called a soft overhaul of the transmission, including replacing the solenoids and re-doing anything inside that appeared to be worn - at the price of $1600 bucks. By the way, it shifted flawlessly before and during all this, and still does!! Well, I thought after I got it out that it was fixed for sure. The light came on again a few days after....same code, so I took it back. They said they are gathering information by being members of a forum/website etc., themselves, reset the code and said drive it and bring it back if it happens again. OK, it happened again just yesterday, same code. So, I'm at a loss! Don't know what to do other than to keep taking it back to them since the trans rebuild is under warranty, but this is getting aggravating. Any light shed on this from some of you guys who know alot more than I do about these things w