Cruise Error E3 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
3rd Generation (2005-2012) Specific discussion of the third generation Toyota Avalon

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 11-17-2011, 09:56 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Cruise Error E3

Driving on the highway yesterday using the radar cruise control it suddenly stopped and gives an E3 error warring and red light. When I stop and restart the car it will work for a few seconds and then give the E3 code. If I stop and engage the normal Cruise control before moving, that appears OK. I have cleaned and checked the lenses on the sending unit and all is OK. I will check the connector to the sending unit this morning and see if there is a loose connection. Any Ideas or knowledge of the E3 code before I get an appointment.
oilman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 11-17-2011, 10:35 AM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego CA, Glen Cove NY,Fairford UK,Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 106 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Was it raining?

It worked fine until I fixed it!
csaxon is offline  
#3 Old 11-17-2011, 10:51 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Nope, I know it will stop with rain. It is still throwing this error and not working. I just cleaned the lens again and same thing. She is on the ramps i am going to drop the pan and see if there is a connection problem at the sending unit.
oilman is offline  
#4 Old 11-17-2011, 12:53 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I can not see any connection problem - any ideas?
oilman is offline  
#5 Old 11-17-2011, 02:24 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego CA, Glen Cove NY,Fairford UK,Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 106 Times in 100 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Sorry. E3 covers too many possibilities from cracked lense, bent bumper, alignment and any other electronic malfuntion in between. Hopefully it's just a calibration. If it's the box then bend over and spread your cheeks, it's expensive.

It worked fine until I fixed it!
csaxon is offline  
#6 Old 11-17-2011, 06:53 PM
'07 Avalon Limited
 
Tom in Tacoma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dupont, WA
Posts: 1,093
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 11
Thanked 55 Times in 54 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I've gotten the E3 error before with the sun very low in the sky and me headed toward it - for what that's worth.


2007 Avalon Limited - Love this car!
Tom in Tacoma is offline  
#7 Old 11-18-2011, 08:06 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Start car turn on cruise all seems ok, start driving at about 10 mph I get the error code. Turn on / off cruise while driving, error code instantly cannot enter “normal cruise” control at this point. Stop car, shut off engine, restart, turn on cruise, before moving, change to normal cruise no problem normal cruise will continue to work.


Is there any TSB on this system?
oilman is offline  
#8 Old 11-18-2011, 09:07 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
I found a TSB # 201240, Action # 10018279, Service Bulletin # 201240 Seems to be about laser alignment - anybody have access to the meat of this?
oilman is offline  
#9 Old 11-18-2011, 10:25 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Ha - just looked at the warranty we purchased 6 years, 80K, Tender Loving Care Platinum. And it,cruise control module, servo, cables and switches. I'll let y'all (NC thing) know the outcome.
oilman is offline  
#10 Old 11-23-2011, 08:13 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
OK after two days in the shop and outside instructions for the Toyota Service Department, the cruise was calibrated and works great again = cost $145.00.
oilman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Avalon Forum > 3rd Generation (2005-2012)

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome