Replacing Oxygen Sensor For corolla 98 - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Archived Corolla threads Older Archived Corolla threads

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 02-09-2006, 08:32 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Unhappy Replacing Oxygen Sensor For corolla 98

Hi guys,

Give me your advice for replacing Oxygen Sensor for corolla 98.

Is that hard to replace?

My skill level is pretty much beginner.(I can change the engine oil by myself. )

Here is my story. Engine check light poped up yesterday. I cleaned the spark plugs first, then the light gone. I knew the previous owner of the car did not replace the spark plugs before because it just has 52,000 miles.
Today, I brought my car to local repair shop and the mechanic told me he could read the code which indicates replacing the oxygen sensor. He said my corolla has two oxygen sensors (one in front and one in back) and front oxygen sensor may the one need to replace. He suggested me to replace if the engine check light pops up again, but he will charge $300!

I have Haynes repair manual and found this oxygen sensor $105.
http://www.partsamerica.com/ProductD...pe=291&ptset=A

I can save $200 if I can do it by myself, . So, I need your opinion.

Please give me your opinion. Thanks in advance.
1998corolla1998 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 02-09-2006, 09:40 PM
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The oxygen sensor is usually an easy replacement. Just be careful not to round off the fitting when removing the old sensor. Wait till the exhaust has cooled off completely and hit the area with PB Blaster (or your favorite rust remover) and let it soak a few hours before trying to remove the old one.

Did the mechanic tell you what code he found?
stubborn1 is offline  
#3 Old 02-09-2006, 10:01 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Hey stubborn1

Thanks for your quick response.
The mechanic told me P0130 or P0136 or something like that.
I do not remember exactly.
But I remeber he said front oxygen sensor maybe the one need to replace.
I think I will try to replace it by myself with your advice, so I can save $200.

Thanks for your advice.
1998corolla1998 is offline  
#4 Old 02-10-2006, 09:39 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville,Il
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
here i found an upstream O2 sensor alot cheaper than u found it should only take 15 min at the most to change the O2 http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/cata...&parttype=5132
nofuturefilmer is offline  
#5 Old 02-11-2006, 02:31 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Hi, nofuturefilmer
Thank you for spending your time to find the cheaper Oxygen Sensor.

I have another question.
I contacted the mechanic about the engine code and he told me the code was P0125.
Haynes Repair manual states P0125 as
"Insufficient coolant temperature for closed loop; oxygen sensor heater malfunction."

Is this really relate to Oxygen Sensor problem?

I should make my thread tittle as "HELP for Engine Code P0125"

Last edited by 1998corolla1998; 02-11-2006 at 02:33 AM.
1998corolla1998 is offline  
#6 Old 02-11-2006, 08:17 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville,Il
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
well ur O2 sensor has a heating element built into it. and the element probably went and and would be why it is throwing the code. so ill ask my boss monday about it and see what he says about it and i will let you know. if you have any questions don't hesitate to call after 12 pm. 815 685 6997
nofuturefilmer is offline  
#7 Old 02-11-2006, 08:43 PM
TN's Financial Expert
 
BullMarket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: The South
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Just did this on my 99 civic with 60k. Took it to the parts store, ran an OBD scan, o2 sensor faulty, purchased one there (and bought a special socket to accomodate for the wires coming out of the end...you'll need this). Looks like this:



Pull the neg batt terminal, unplug the sensor, loosen faulty sensor with special socket, remove with hand, install new one with hand (should have anti-seize compound on it), finish tightening sensor with socket, plug back in, zip tie wires so they don't rest on header, reattach neg terminal, done. Pulling the terminal should reset the ECU and the thrown code will be gone. If not, most auto parts stores that do free OBD scans will reset for you.

Make sure you get an OEM sensor so you can use the factory plugins (I would not recommend splicing). Denso OEM sensor is what you want

BULLMKT

SFTIEREEL

Last edited by BullMarket; 02-11-2006 at 08:47 PM.
BullMarket is offline  
#8 Old 02-12-2006, 12:32 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Hi, nofuturefilmer
Thanks for your qucik response again and asking the question for your boss.
I can not thank enough.
So far I will try to replace oxygen sensor as your advice.

Hi, Bullmarket
Thank you for your response.
I had no idea how to replace the oxygen sensor,
so your instruction and the image of the tool help me a lot.
1998corolla1998 is offline  
#9 Old 02-14-2006, 12:06 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville,Il
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
he said that the heating element probably went out making it throw the code so replace the O2 sensor and of it still throws the code scan it again and let me know
nofuturefilmer is offline  
#10 Old 01-29-2010, 09:31 PM
Official TN Member
 
Andrewz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The HErst
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I have to replace the o2 sensor in the front of my car. Can anyone give me an idea of where this is located, I am going to buy it and do it myself. I have a 2000 it should be the same for the 1998 I just don't have a haynes manual. Thanks for any input!
Andrewz is offline  
#11 Old 01-30-2010, 12:57 AM
Full Throttle
 
Kiwi-Corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6,741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 76
Thanked 522 Times in 481 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andrewz View Post
I have to replace the o2 sensor in the front of my car. Can anyone give me an idea of where this is located, I am going to buy it and do it myself. I have a 2000 it should be the same for the 1998 I just don't have a haynes manual. Thanks for any input!
Are you talking about the o2 sensor near/in the exhaust manifold? Or the o2 sensor near the catalytic converter in the exhaust pipe underneath the car? Either way, it's easy to replace. Just unplug the connector and use a long socket to unscrew the sensor. If you don't have a long socket handy, then you could get away with using a ring spanner if you can get enough leverage on it. Once it's out, you simply install the new o2 sensor and reconnect the connector. It's a good idea to put some anti-seize compound on the thread to make for easy removal in the future.


^^Click above to view my Driiive page ^^
Kiwi-Corolla is offline  
#12 Old 04-15-2010, 09:38 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Cumberland, ME
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Avalon 98 O2 Sensor

This is my first post, but am interested in O2 sensors, because my 98 Avalon has been running rough with no power and bad gas mileage. I got a check engine light and the code was P0125. I think the reader said O2 sensor bank 1 sensor 2. Can you tell me which one of the sensors is "bank 1 sensor 2"? How do you access it? My repair manual does not tell me. Thanks for any help.
jelliburg is offline  
#13 Old 04-15-2010, 10:06 PM
Full Throttle
 
Kiwi-Corolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 6,741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Thanks: 76
Thanked 522 Times in 481 Posts
Garage
iTrader Score: 16 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by jelliburg View Post
This is my first post, but am interested in O2 sensors, because my 98 Avalon has been running rough with no power and bad gas mileage. I got a check engine light and the code was P0125. I think the reader said O2 sensor bank 1 sensor 2. Can you tell me which one of the sensors is "bank 1 sensor 2"? How do you access it? My repair manual does not tell me. Thanks for any help.
Welcome to the forums. As far as I know, Avalons have 3 oxygen sensors - One on the firewall side of the engine, one in the exhaust manifold or down-pipe and one in the exhaust pipe just after the catalytic converter. Bank 1 sensor 2 would be located in the exhaust pipe, directly after the catalytic converter. If you jack your car up you'll be able to see it. Once you buy a replacement sensor just follow the instructions in my previous post and you'll be good to go.

I should also mention that in order to get to the electrical connector for that particular sensor, you have to remove the passenger's seat (that's the case for 7th gen Corollas anyway, so I assume you'd have to do the same with Avalons). This will allow you to unplug the old one and then plug in the new one once you have it screwed in place. It's an easy job to do and shouldn't take you any longer than half any hour.


^^Click above to view my Driiive page ^^
Kiwi-Corolla is offline  
#14 Old 07-05-2010, 12:35 PM
Official TN Member
 
Andrewz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: The HErst
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Would this fit our cars?

Amazon Amazon
Andrewz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Archived Corolla threads

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome