the biggest engine you can fit in a corolla? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Archived Corolla threads

Archived Corolla threads Older Archived Corolla threads

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2007, 10:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: miami , fl
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View sporkz's Photo Gallery
the biggest engine you can fit in a corolla?

i don't know if this question has ever been asked before,so i was thinking you can swap different engine into different cars because there all japanese engines.for examples like dropping in a prelude engine or a vtech engine because vvti doesn't really give you that much push i mean don't get me wrong i've buried the needle in my rolla 115+
sporkz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-11-2007, 10:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
IROC-IT-ALL-NIGHT-LONG
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 348
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View dakmor's Photo Gallery
Just bescause they are form "Japanese" manufacturers, does not make them compatible in other vehicles.

It takes a lot to do an engine swap. You will likely need to fabricate custom mounting brackets.

And as far as the biggest engine, what ever would fit. W16 anyone?
dakmor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 10:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Feel the vibe.
 
vibebreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View vibebreaker's Photo Gallery
3sgte looks kinda tight in the bay
__________________
vibebreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 10:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Resident asshole
 
Flashmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 9,546
Gameroom cash: $354445
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Flashmn's Photo Gallery
Quote:
dropping in a prelude engine or a vtech engine because vvti doesn't really give you that much push
Its VTEC, not vtech. And as for VVTi not giving enough push, thats because its not sudden. Also a prelude engine is a 2liter. Vtec is overrated.

As for the biggest engine, well... what you can shoehorn in there, I've seen a Civic with a corvette V8 in it
http://blog.cardomain.com/blog/2007/06/ls1-civic.html
Flashmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 10:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Senior TN Member
 
retiredat44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,526
Gameroom cash: $224815
Thanks: 1
Thanked 22 Times in 21 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View retiredat44's Photo Gallery
Cool

MG Midget with Chevy SS 396

sorry I don't have apicture, this was in Redondo Beach, Ca. USA around 1976.

I owned an MG Mideget around that time.. but it was stock.

Last edited by retiredat44; 10-11-2007 at 10:56 AM.
retiredat44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Feel the vibe.
 
vibebreaker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 708
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View vibebreaker's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flashmn View Post
Its VTEC, not vtech. And as for VVTi not giving enough push, thats because its not sudden. Also a prelude engine is a 2liter. Vtec is overrated.

As for the biggest engine, well... what you can shoehorn in there, I've seen a Civic with a corvette V8 in it
http://blog.cardomain.com/blog/2007/06/ls1-civic.html
yeah there's a Northstar V8 MR2 as well.

http://www.v8mr2.com/
__________________
vibebreaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Vivir el momento
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18,675
Gameroom cash: $1882797
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2,389 Times in 1,514 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
View PhatRoyale's Photo Gallery
I'm not responsible if you kill yourself.

If you just want to go faster, get the top speed limiter removed by modifying the ECU.

Get a nitrous kit too. No need for a swap.

See if that suits you. If not, then get a 4A-GZE, if that's still not good enough, twincharge it.

If you want to go all out, get the 3S-GTE.
PhatRoyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
BANNED
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Alaska
Posts: 1,498
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View w203's Photo Gallery
so basically its just another i want more power thread. if u had to ask about such topics it showed u didn't take any initiative to research and expect to be spoonfed. such help won't be offered "if" u do actually do the swap unless u paid someone to do it. with that said, get a better platform
w203 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 12:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Vivir el momento
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 18,675
Gameroom cash: $1882797
Thanks: 8
Thanked 2,389 Times in 1,514 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 5 reviews
View PhatRoyale's Photo Gallery
LOL I just finished spoonfeeding him.
PhatRoyale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 01:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Resident asshole
 
Flashmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 9,546
Gameroom cash: $354445
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Flashmn's Photo Gallery
Well obviously hes not skilled enough to do the swap himself, because he wouldnt of asked a question like that if he was....People should stop daydreaming...

If I wanted to put a honda H22A into my car, I wouldnt be asking if it can be done, I'd be in the engine bay with a tape measure

Maybe I'll get an AE101 and put a B18 into it for fun...
Flashmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:13 PM   #11 (permalink)
Corolla Lover
 
Rookie_One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Drummondville
Posts: 944
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rookie_One's Photo Gallery
GTFO , no honda engine in a toyota here

Last edited by Rookie_One; 10-11-2007 at 02:16 PM.
Rookie_One is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Resident asshole
 
Flashmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 9,546
Gameroom cash: $354445
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Flashmn's Photo Gallery
Shutup...then I'd put VTEC stikers on the sides and when some 19 year old corolla kid comes to say "you dont have vtec in a corolla" I can own him
Flashmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 02:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Nordschleife racer
 
Michel H's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Teh Netherlands
Posts: 36
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Michel H's Photo Gallery
I would buy a Hon.. err I mean a faster car.

Would the 3vz fit ?
Michel H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:06 PM   #14 (permalink)
& JustAnotherCamry
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Inland Empire, CA
Posts: 1,603
Thanks: 0
Thanked 18 Times in 13 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View JustAnotherAsian's Photo Gallery
i guess i'm the only one that's confused about which corolla he's talking about... =P
JustAnotherAsian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 03:30 PM   #15 (permalink)
Resident asshole
 
Flashmn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 9,546
Gameroom cash: $354445
Thanks: 3
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Flashmn's Photo Gallery
Quote:
I would buy a Hon.. err I mean a faster car.
If you're saying honda is faster, I'm gonna drop to the floor and roll my self laughing....
Flashmn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Corolla and Matrix Forum > Archived Corolla threads

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'98 Corolla engine noise earthmover Archived Corolla threads 5 10-28-2009 09:16 PM
Engine hesitated and how I fixed it, 1998 Corolla Anthony1 Archived Corolla threads 8 03-23-2007 08:18 PM
HELP is '93 Corolla 1.6 interference engine? 93corolla5speed Archived Corolla threads 15 01-04-2007 07:10 AM
Just purchased a new '07 LE (first post) with break-in procedures Forced Induxion 5th & 6th Generation (2002-2006 & 2007-2011) 9 07-17-2006 07:29 AM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.