Can I add more techron with chevron 89 octane gas - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

Fuel Economy Forum for people to discuss their mileage and ways to improve it.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 Old 05-24-2011, 07:59 PM Thread Starter
Official TN Member
 
tylerho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Monterey/Sacramento
Posts: 59
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Can I add more techron with chevron 89 octane gas

For the past two months I have been using arco's 89 octane gas and last week i started to use chevron's 89 octane. when i was using arco the price was $4 for regular while chevron was close to $4.50. Now since gas is going down arcos price is cheaper than chevron by 5 cents. Will I be able to ad more techron when I fill up tomorrow, because o'reilly is having a BOGO sale on the techron starting tomorrow. Since I started using chevron gas again and a new wix air filter i was able to get more city mpg. please let me know. thanks

99 Camry V6 135k miles
Bridgestone Potenza re970as Pole Position
tylerho is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-24-2011, 09:17 PM
イリジウム
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calif
Posts: 8,829
Thanks: 223
Thanked 1,035 Times in 972 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
The O'Reilly one on sale is the concentrated.

IIRC, you can use the fuel injector cleaner almost every fillup, but the concentrated was like a few thousand miles or something like that. It has more cleaner than the FI cleaner. If you didn't already add a bottle in the tank then you can use one, even for Chervron gas.
JohnGD is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-24-2011, 09:23 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 4,367
Thanks: 329
Thanked 454 Times in 415 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 226 Post(s)
Garage
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I just got 2 of them from OR, you're supposed to put it in when the tank at 1/4, right?
pmesfun is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-24-2011, 09:36 PM
イリジウム
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Calif
Posts: 8,829
Thanks: 223
Thanked 1,035 Times in 972 Posts
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
Or as empty as possible. This allows the refueling process to "mix it up" well.
JohnGD is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-24-2011, 10:16 PM
抵抗は無駄です
 
fenixus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: northern NJ, USA
Posts: 9,071
Thanks: 667
Thanked 646 Times in 565 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 4 reviews
it doesn't matter much when you pour it in, I did at 1/4 tank or at almost full tank. it will mix well regardless. results were always good

use either the 20oz bottle or 2 bottles of 12oz of concentrated Chevron techron fuel system cleaner.

also the concentrated techron dose impacts the fuel trims nicely
with it in tank wife's 5s-fe trims drop down to +2 or +3% total
without it they float around +5 or +7% total.


'02 Solara SLE V6 1MZ-FE/A541E@ 149k
"We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit." - Aristotle
items For Sale
fenixus is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-25-2011, 06:48 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Boulder CO
Posts: 1,488
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
I don't know about the techron but the new air cleaner couldn't have improved your mpg.

http://www.fueleconomy.gov/feg/pdfs/...02_26_2009.pdf

Conclusion:

On 3 different vehicles with fuel injected engines an almost completely clogged air cleaner did not reduce mpg. But this is WAY more restricted than letting your filter go for 200,000 miles, so restricted that one vehicle damaged the intake by sucking the air filter right down the pipe!

With a clogged air filter the computer just opens the throttle plate a bit more to compensate.

2005 Impulse Red 4x2 Access cab 2.7L 5-speed SR5.
worthywads is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Nation Forums > Fuel Economy

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Back