Starter relay location - 1987 Turbo? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums
Supra Forum Forum for all Toyota Supra generations.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
#1 Old 08-06-2007, 08:10 AM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Question Starter relay location - 1987 Turbo?

My Dad just shipped me his '87 Turbo 5 sp (original owner) for my next project car. When I went to pick it up at the terminal, it wouldn't start. Funny, because it drove right on the truck. Oh well. No click, no nothing. So after a $250 tow home, I found that the starter and solenoid were fine, after hooking a jumper from the battery to the smaller (ignition switch) terminal on the starter.

Where is the starter relay located on this model? My Haynes manual really doesn't shed much light on this subject. Is there a way to test the relay? Does anybody know what terminal to check to see that the ignition switch is sending juice to the relay? Thanks!
ToyFan420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
#2 Old 08-06-2007, 11:25 AM
Got Hardass?
 
Jeeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Albuq, NM.
Posts: 2,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
No Click, No nothing. Are you sure it's not the alarm? The factory alarm will disable the starter and you must reset it before it'll kick.

1988 Mk3 Turbo Targa - 17.5psi, ~600hp, ~600tq.

No domain for you.
Jeeves is offline  
#3 Old 08-06-2007, 06:03 PM
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeves
No Click, No nothing. Are you sure it's not the alarm? The factory alarm will disable the starter and you must reset it before it'll kick.
Funny you should mention that. It had an intermittent problem with the alarm arming itself, so the last shop that worked on it pulled the harness to the alarm brain. When I received the car, that was one of the first things my Dad mentioned.

To make a long story short, I guess the shop had jumpered a ground wire to the security system harness, and it had fallen out as the car was trucked up north. I ended up just making a little harness for the starter relay itself and manually grounding terminal #3. They had just rigged it... ...and done a poor job. This may be, however, a useful piece of info for someone whose OEM security system acts up. I don't want to see another test light or wiring schematic for at least a few weeks...
ToyFan420 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Supra Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome