What do you guys think about this supra - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Supra Forum

Supra Forum Forum for all Toyota Supra generations.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2009, 08:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View colbyjenner's Photo Gallery
What do you guys think about this supra

I am looking at buying this supra and wondering what you guys think. Price ok? What should i look for before buying? Any known problems with this year? Heres a link http://kalamazoo.craigslist.org/cto/1464942364.html

Thanks,

Colby
colbyjenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-17-2009, 08:24 AM   #2 (permalink)
one turbo is one too few
 
bgrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,866
Gameroom cash: $309150
Thanks: 7
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View bgrieger's Photo Gallery
For the mods listed, the mileage listed and the overall appearance (though pictures often look better than in person) it's pretty damn cheap.

It does not mention engine work, just a ton of bolt ons. Headgaskets are notorious if not tackled properly. Outside of that, general maintainence and upkeep are the keys to a good Supra. Ask about the records and whether the gasket has been replaced.

The brake kit, turbo and rims alone are worth more than the asking price, which makes me suspicious as to whether this may be a scam or not. If it is in driving distance, it's worth looking into if you're in the market for a supra. It might be a fire sale as someone is out of a job or something, it may be a scam, or they haven't mentioned that it may need to have the engine rebuilt. Check into it closely, and have a mechanic give it a good once over before paying for it.
bgrieger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Got Hardass?
 
Jeeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Albuq, NM.
Posts: 2,955
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Jeeves's Photo Gallery
Big Brake Kits alone can run $2,000 so that's very cheap. I'm with Bob on this one.
__________________
1988 Mk3 Turbo Targa - 17.5psi, 486hp, 494tq.
[img]http://www.**********s.com/supra/rsw_sig_stupidTN.jpg[/img]
Who came up with this 500px wide BS?

Last edited by Jeeves; 11-17-2009 at 09:54 AM.
Jeeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
One with the force
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 3,876
Gameroom cash: $819601
Thanks: 307
Thanked 83 Times in 82 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View zythr's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgrieger View Post
For the mods listed, the mileage listed and the overall appearance (though pictures often look better than in person) it's pretty damn cheap.

It does not mention engine work, just a ton of bolt ons. Headgaskets are notorious if not tackled properly. Outside of that, general maintainence and upkeep are the keys to a good Supra. Ask about the records and whether the gasket has been replaced.

The brake kit, turbo and rims alone are worth more than the asking price, which makes me suspicious as to whether this may be a scam or not. If it is in driving distance, it's worth looking into if you're in the market for a supra. It might be a fire sale as someone is out of a job or something, it may be a scam, or they haven't mentioned that it may need to have the engine rebuilt. Check into it closely, and have a mechanic give it a good once over before paying for it.

They mentioned the engine was rebuilt and has less than 5000 miles on the rebuild.
zythr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
One with the force
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cleveland Oh
Posts: 3,876
Gameroom cash: $819601
Thanks: 307
Thanked 83 Times in 82 Posts
Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View zythr's Photo Gallery
Ask for any and all maintenance records and also if there is a warranty on the rebuild. Also ask if the rebuild included the turbo. Mosat importantly if you decide to buy it have a qualified mechanic check it out and get his/her opinion if this would be a good buy. Good luck
zythr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View colbyjenner's Photo Gallery
Its a scam. I hate that on craigslist.

thanks for the tips,


Colby
colbyjenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 10:38 AM   #7 (permalink)
THIS SPACE FOR RENT
 
humanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sunny SoCal
Posts: 10,120
Gameroom cash: $1002764
Thanks: 375
Thanked 225 Times in 204 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View humanoid's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by colbyjenner View Post
Its a scam. I hate that on craigslist.

thanks for the tips,


Colby
What happened?
humanoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 12:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 18
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View colbyjenner's Photo Gallery
oh you know just the basic scum bag trying to make a dollar through scaming on craigslist. They just email you with a sad story and how they want to use ebay to do the deal. just some hacker trying to take advanage of the un informed
colbyjenner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 09:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
one turbo is one too few
 
bgrieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,866
Gameroom cash: $309150
Thanks: 7
Thanked 31 Times in 28 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View bgrieger's Photo Gallery
Can't say I recognize the car the scammer stole the photos for though...the rims aren't my style, but are fairly unique.
bgrieger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2009, 09:18 AM   #10 (permalink)
In love with boost
 
emiliorescigno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Stillwater, Minnesota
Posts: 706
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View emiliorescigno's Photo Gallery
http://www.supramania.com/forums/sho...highlight=scam
__________________
emiliorescigno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 05:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
TZH
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: NewYork
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TZH's Photo Gallery
I am speachless.
TZH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 05:44 PM   #12 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View vmoua509's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by colbyjenner View Post
Its a scam. I hate that on craigslist.

thanks for the tips,


Colby

I agree. Its a scam! Its also for sale on Autotrader for $7995 from Ventura, CA. here is the link.... i knew i saw this supra from somewhere before...

http://www.autotrader.com/fyc/vdp.js...standard=false



and its also for sale on craigslist from kalispell, montana! darn scammers!

http://kalispell.craigslist.org/cto/1475109620.html

Last edited by vmoua509; 11-23-2009 at 05:59 PM.
vmoua509 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Supra Forum

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.