freaking scammers!!! - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
» Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Supra Forum

Supra Forum Forum for all Toyota Supra generations.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-22-2005, 12:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spursville
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View robsatx's Photo Gallery
freaking scammers!!!

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Supra...QQcmdZViewItem

This dude says he will sell this supra for $6k.

If that is the case I will fly to his office/home tomorrow and pick it up!!

What a scam!
robsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 09-22-2005, 12:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
How Ya Like Me Now?
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,346
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View Anshu's Photo Gallery
sweet looking engine
price is weird tho
__________________
98 V6 XLE
Dell 5100|SB Extigy|PPI DCX 730|NEXT 4.00|Monitor 2.70|ED Nine.1|LPG 26||Alpine Type R|ED 11ov2's and some other junk
Anshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:12 AM   #3 (permalink)
Got Fatass?
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 283
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View ahmedootie's Photo Gallery
You are going to die too.
look ONE post above yours...at tha sticky...MKIV scam registry...
ahmedootie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:25 AM   #4 (permalink)
WHAT!!!!
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Okinawa Japan
Posts: 1,553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View TeRcElIcA's Photo Gallery
wow... I saw that like 7 months ago. The guy told me he lived in italy and he will handle the shipping and this and that. But yeah... there is a MKIV scam registry on the top thread.
__________________
TeRcElIcA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 01:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Got Hardass?
 
Jeeves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Albuq, NM.
Posts: 2,955
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Jeeves's Photo Gallery
When in doubt, Google the VIN.

http://www.google.com/search?q=jt2de82axv0037273

Now, let's see, scam or not?
__________________
1988 Mk3 Turbo Targa - 17.5psi, 486hp, 494tq.
[img]http://www.**********s.com/supra/rsw_sig_stupidTN.jpg[/img]
Who came up with this 500px wide BS?
Jeeves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 02:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Offical TN Hillbilly
 
TcmaBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,757
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TcmaBoy's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedootie
You are going to die too.
look ONE post above yours...at tha sticky...MKIV scam registry...
Read the sticky. It says to post in a new thread untill verified. He did the right thing.
TcmaBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2005, 11:30 AM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Spursville
Posts: 1,301
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 1 reviews
View robsatx's Photo Gallery
What really pisses me off is that ebay does not let you email the fraud dept.

What really pisses me off is that ebay does not let you email the fraud dept.

You have to dig to find a web page to let them know. They should have a HOTLINE for this crap! I am sure many have been scammed by crap like this. I would even say place a button on the car screen at ebay that says "I KNOW THIS IS A SCAM". But NO ebay would rather some poor dude get the screws put to him rather than having to pony up for some personnel to handle this issue.

I have purchased some LARGE items on ebay. But I never hand ANY money over till I am in front of the car, title in hand and sitting with a notary public to document the deal. I have also run a car fax and checked with the local authorities to see if the car is stolen.

So many ebay accounts get hacked - I nearly lost $4k on an M Roadster - this was two years ago. How is ebay still letting this crap happen.

Granted the auction is over now, but sheesh can they come up with a good way to report this stuff? Maybe there is something I am not aware of?


BTW, here is the reponse I got to the email . . . I sent the email headers to ebay and to aol's webmasters . . . probably will not do anything but I tried.


Scammer Response:

Hello and thank you for your interest in my 1997 Toyota Supra Twin Turbo.The car is like new, in perfect conditions,accident free, no scratches, no special marks, no need for additional repairs what so ever.12040 miles onboard, a genuine road runner ready to be yours for only US$6,000. I'm aware that it might seem like a "to good to be true"deal but it's actually not so .The reason I'm selling so cheap is that my and my family will relocate in a few days due to some work-related requirements, so I wont be needing the Supra anymore.Because this is our first contact and because we are in a business relationship please let me introduce my self.
Here is my full personal info:

First name: Andrew
Last name: Tait
ADDRESS: Via Toscani,9
CITY: Brescia
COUNTRY: Italy
ZIP: 25019

All the manuals for the car and the original documents are in English.It is made for US market and has US specs on it (speedometer in miles).The buyer will receive this along with all papers and receipts that he needs to register it in his name.He will receive the TITLE,keys,owner manual... It has a Clear Title and it is in Showroom Condition.To help you make up your mind concerning my vehicle I'm also able to send via email pics you might be interested in seeing. The only "bad news" I have is that an actual viewing of the car is for ,the moment,imposible as I'm not in the USA at the time. I wish to assure you that this is a secure deal through the Vehicle Purchase Protection program from eBay Motors.Your passenger vehicle purchase is protected for up to $20,000.As soon as I have your firm decision that you want to buy,i will let ebay know about our transaction and they should contact you with further details.Therefore,if your interest in buying my car is genuine, I'll need the following details send via email asap:
Your complete name
Your complete address
Your exact shipping address(if you have one)
Please keep in mind at all times that I'm a serious seller looking to make a safe and legit deal so lets try not waste each other's time. I just had to say this because of all the funny emails(to say the least) I've been receiving in the last couple of days. Any further questions you might
have as well as the payment details will be addresssed if a future email, as right now time is my biggsest enemy.But I promise i'll reply as fast as humanly possible


Best Regards,
robsatx is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > Supra Forum

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.