Knock sensor failure - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums

MR2 Forum Forum for every generation Toyota MR2. Including the AW11 and SW20.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
Boosting 15 psi :)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Japan Knock sensor failure

Hey guys, its been a while since i posted, i know

I have an open ended question/discussion -
my knock sensor is on the fritz, and Toyota claims that the US MR2 turbos dont have knock sensors and that they cant find one of the japanese parts... (recall that i had a 93 Jap 3S swapped in some time ago)
is this true? where can i find this part? can i do the work myself?

I have searched these forums for everything i could find and i did not find much information.

Even the online repair manual doesnt say anything about how to replace the knock sensor.

Thanks everyone,
-Dane

Function over form.
Drifting Dane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 08:19 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
There is a knock sensor on the 2nd gen 3sgte's. Mine is on the fritz too, so I have already called 4 places for prices. The dealership=$192.00, O'Reilley's=$169.00, and Bumper to Bumper= $189.00.
I have bought a couple of things from ATS Racing. They have a GM knock sensor that is much more durable than the OEM. Lots of guys are using them in their race set ups. And It's way cheaper.I ordered mine today=$83.01 shipped. It comes as a kit with an adapter to fit the block and then the sensor to the adapter. You have to splice the 1 wire of the sensor to your stock sensor wire. Your ECU will read it like it was OEM...Easy!
There is also a parts number finder stickie on the 1st page. You can get a part number that way.But I do recommend the ATS sensor.
I haven't seen you on here in forever. Where have you been and what have you been up to?

Last edited by MR2Jedi; 10-01-2008 at 08:30 PM.
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #3 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
Boosting 15 psi :)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
school school and more school, almost done though.

How have you been? I really need to catch up on MR2 current events...

Is there a website that details the installation of the GM unit/does it come with instructions? because that sounds pretty good to me, more durability + cheaper = win.

Function over form.
Drifting Dane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 11:19 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
I hear ya, glad to see you back!
It's pretty much plug and play. Remove the electrical connector from the old sensor, then unscrew the old sensor. Screw in new adapter, then screw in the new sensor into the adapter. There is only 1 wire, cut off the old connector, then splice the wire to the wire on the new connector, plug it on the new sensor, you're done..
You can check it out here:
http://www.atsracing.net/ats_racing_knock_sensor.htm

Last edited by MR2Jedi; 10-01-2008 at 11:21 PM.
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #5 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 11:28 PM Thread Starter
Boosting 15 psi :)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Haha, glad to be back!

That looks great, ill order one tonight.

One question - sine that isnt a toyota part and may not be the same specs as the oem, what kind of torque do you screw it in with? I ask because this will effect the sensitivity of the sensor.

Thanks for the help BAD

Function over form.
Drifting Dane is offline  
post #6 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 11:34 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
it's like installing an oil pressure sensor. I don't know about torque value for this. I usually just hand tighten.
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #7 of 30 Old 10-01-2008, 11:57 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
I checked my manual and I didn't find a torque value for the sensor. It might not be a bad idea to use a little locktite.
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #8 of 30 Old 10-05-2008, 10:21 PM
Audi Technician
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North Philly, Pa
Posts: 774
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
knock sensor sensitivity is adjusted w/ torque.

i'd contact ATS and ask them. or you could just wing it... just get a feel for how easy or hard it comes out and try to match it. thats wha i would prolly do.
tHa kNiGHt FaLL is offline  
post #9 of 30 Old 10-05-2008, 11:02 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Hmm? I guess I'll shoot Scott or Aaron an email and check. You'd think for anything that sensitive the manual would give a torque value..go figure..thanks again Drew
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #10 of 30 Old 10-06-2008, 05:04 PM
Senior TN Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Bellingham, WA
Posts: 4,817
Thanks: 1
Thanked 90 Times in 84 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 447 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
find out to see if the knock sensor crosses over to anything US... like in any of the corolla's?

1) 1993 3X Locked FZJ80 Land Cruiser 2) Frame-off "Rusto-Mod" FJ40/350/350 3) 1987 4x4 Suburban 4) 2014 Prius C
toyotaspeed90 is offline  
post #11 of 30 Old 10-07-2008, 12:21 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
I emailed Scott at ATS and asked him if there was a torque value for the knock sensor. This was his reply:
Nope, just get it tight enough that it won’t fall out, and not so tight that you strip out the threads. ;-)
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #12 of 30 Old 10-07-2008, 12:23 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
I emailed Scott at ATS and asked him if there was a torque value for the knock sensor. This was his reply:
Nope, just get it tight enough that it wont fall out, and not so tight that you strip out the threads. ;-)
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 10-07-2008, 03:09 PM Thread Starter
Boosting 15 psi :)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Cool, thanks for the info (im trying to remember names, so dont get mad at me if i mess this up... Ross?)!

I should be getting mine in today... I tried looking online for the physical location of the knock sensor, and came up empty handed. Anyone know where it is? Mind describing its location relative to something else so i dont do something stupid?

Cheers

Function over form.
Drifting Dane is offline  
post #14 of 30 Old 10-07-2008, 05:44 PM
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 18,741
Thanks: 788
Thanked 1,113 Times in 908 Posts
Mentioned: 14 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 431 Post(s)
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 7 reviews
Close-Russ.
The sensor is underneath the intake manifold. It looks like a oil prssure sending unit. It's all by it's under there. You'll see it. If you can't find it, I'll take a pic when I get home from work tonight.Just let me know..
MR2Jedi is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 10-07-2008, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
Boosting 15 psi :)
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Niceville, FL
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
(Thread Starter)
Hehe sorry

the unit came late in the day so i didnt have time to install it today. Ill check it out tomorrow. Do i need to remove the intake manifold? Or just jack up the car?

Id love a pic if it isnt too much trouble.

Just as a side note: i found an interesting thread on MR2OC about the GM sensor... turns out these sensors only have a 'listening' range in more of the 'oh-shit' zone for our cars. ill try and find the thread later to post.

Function over form.
Drifting Dane is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > MR2 Forum

Bookmarks

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
Back