Safe boost on stock 3S-GTE? - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > MR2 Forum

MR2 Forum Forum for every generation Toyota MR2. Including the AW11 and SW20.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2010, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Safe boost on stock 3S-GTE?

Hi, I have a Celica with a 1995 MR2 3S-GTE motor in it. The engine it self is stock like internals like pistons and all. It does have a K&N air filter and a 3" exhaust. I bought a boost controller and was wondering what a safe boost would be. I don't care about the turbo, I just don't want to blow the engine it self. If the turbo goes out that's fine. Can any one help?
Thanks much,
-Gordon
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 05-10-2010, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 16,730
Gameroom cash: $1673725
Thanks: 412
Thanked 756 Times in 619 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View MR2Jedi's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rislove View Post
Hi, I have a Celica with a 1995 MR2 3S-GTE motor in it. The engine it self is stock like internals like pistons and all. It does have a K&N air filter and a 3" exhaust. I bought a boost controller and was wondering what a safe boost would be. I don't care about the turbo, I just don't want to blow the engine it self. If the turbo goes out that's fine. Can any one help?
Thanks much,
-Gordon
Not fine.
If you blow your turbo, it'll more than likely take the engine with it.
16 psi is the max you should run the CT26-IF it's in good condition with good seals & float bearing.
After that, it's out of it's efficiency island, it runs out of breath and the charge becomes to hot.
I would recommend setting the boost pressure at 15psi.
Are you still using the primary cat?
MR2Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 09:17 PM   #3 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 380
Gameroom cash: $107200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TheEngineer's Photo Gallery
exactly. 15psi is the recommended max psi to be running on that turbo. You should really check out the power primer.
http://www.mrcontrols.com/primers/power.htm
__________________
TheEngineer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEngineer For This Useful Post:
Rislove (05-11-2010)
Old 05-11-2010, 01:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Cat? Like cat back exhaust?
I put in a manual boost controller today. It boosted to 15 psi and it cut out I think. I immediately let off the gas when it did it. It felt like I either kind of put on the brake or let off the gas real fast (before I actually did let off the gas). I turned the boost controller down and tried it again, did the same thing.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 01:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 16,730
Gameroom cash: $1673725
Thanks: 412
Thanked 756 Times in 619 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View MR2Jedi's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rislove View Post
Cat? Like cat back exhaust?
I put in a manual boost controller today. It boosted to 15 psi and it cut out I think. I immediately let off the gas when it did it. It felt like I either kind of put on the brake or let off the gas real fast (before I actually did let off the gas). I turned the boost controller down and tried it again, did the same thing.
Boost cut kicks in at 12 psi. You have to disable that before you can boost higher than that.
MR2Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:18 AM   #6 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2Jedi View Post
Boost cut kicks in at 12 psi. You have to disable that before you can boost higher than that.
Well I don't want to really go to much higher if I am going to harm my engine. But it was fine till it reached 15psi on my boost gauge. Unless it doesn't read right.
What is boost cut and how do you disable it?? I read about the fuel cutting out in other posts.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 02:33 AM   #7 (permalink)
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 16,730
Gameroom cash: $1673725
Thanks: 412
Thanked 756 Times in 619 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View MR2Jedi's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rislove View Post
Well I don't want to really go to much higher if I am going to harm my engine. But it was fine till it reached 15psi on my boost gauge. Unless it doesn't read right.
What is boost cut and how do you disable it?? I read about the fuel cutting out in other posts.
When you hit 12 psi, the ECU will cut fuel to the engine till the boost level drops below 12psi again.
The best thing to do is install a Fuel Cut defencer. It will illiminate the boost cut @ 12psi and raise it to 17psi fuel cut.
Or you can do it for free and disconnect the turbo pressure sensor and plug the nipple on the intake manifold. But you won't have any fuel cut at all to protect you from over boosting.
If your still using the stock boost gauge, it's worthless. It doesn't tell you anything but that your boosting. If you're going to boost over 12 psi, invest in a quality aftermarket boost gauge.
MR2Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MR2Jedi For This Useful Post:
Rislove (05-11-2010)
Old 05-11-2010, 02:37 AM   #8 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2Jedi View Post
When you hit 12 psi, the ECU will cut fuel to the engine till the boost level drops below 12psi again.
The best thing to do is install a Fuel Cut defencer. It will illiminate the boost cut @ 12psi and raise it to 17psi fuel cut.
Or you can do it for free and disconnect the turbo pressure sensor and plug the nipple on the intake manifold. But you won't have any fuel cut at all to protect you from over boosting.
If your still using the stock boost gauge, it's worthless. It doesn't tell you anything but that your boosting. If you're going to boost over 12 psi, invest in a quality aftermarket boost gauge.
Where would I get something like that, the fuel cut defencer? I'm not using the stock gauge. I think it's called a ProComp I believe. Probably still not the best though.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:26 AM   #9 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 380
Gameroom cash: $107200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TheEngineer's Photo Gallery
you dont need an FCD. I would just do the free mod to remove the boost cut. Here read all of this and make sure you did the MBC install just like this

http://www.twosrus.com/Articles/Inst...structions.PDF
__________________
TheEngineer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEngineer For This Useful Post:
Rislove (05-11-2010)
Old 05-11-2010, 03:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEngineer View Post
you dont need an FCD. I would just do the free mod to remove the boost cut. Here read all of this and make sure you did the MBC install just like this

http://www.twosrus.com/Articles/Inst...structions.PDF
That did make sense. I don't think I hooked it up right. But my controller is a bit different. Mine looks exactly like this


Last edited by Rislove; 05-11-2010 at 03:58 PM. Reason: Messed up on image.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 04:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
This is exactly how I hooked my boost controller up. And the T-VSV I think it was called I never touched. I left it hooked up the way it was. What ever it goes to, I think he intake manifold. It goes back under the engine pretty much so I couldn't tell.


Last edited by Rislove; 05-11-2010 at 04:34 PM. Reason: Image wasn't working.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 08:44 AM   #12 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 380
Gameroom cash: $107200
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View TheEngineer's Photo Gallery
everything looks fine for the MBC hookup. I would just do the tvis removal mod as outlined in that link and that will remove the boost cut.
__________________
TheEngineer is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TheEngineer For This Useful Post:
Rislove (05-14-2010)
Old 05-14-2010, 08:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheEngineer View Post
everything looks fine for the MBC hookup. I would just do the tvis removal mod as outlined in that link and that will remove the boost cut.
Alright, thank you very much. One other thing... No one really told me what a safe boost would be? I just don't want to blow my engine.
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2010, 10:57 PM   #14 (permalink)
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 16,730
Gameroom cash: $1673725
Thanks: 412
Thanked 756 Times in 619 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View MR2Jedi's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rislove View Post
Alright, thank you very much. One other thing... No one really told me what a safe boost would be? I just don't want to blow my engine.
Actually, we both did. -15psi
MR2Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to MR2Jedi For This Useful Post:
Rislove (05-16-2010)
Old 05-16-2010, 03:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Rislove's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 19
Thanks: 16
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View Rislove's Photo Gallery
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR2Jedi View Post
Actually, we both did. -15psi
Yeah but every time any thing was said about it was what should be ran on the ct26 turbo itself with out hurting the turbo, I was wanting to know not to hurt my engine. That way if I did get a bigger turbo I new what to run it at without hurting my engine. I think I need a new turbo any ways. Doesn't seem to boost like it use to by it self.
Well thank you all. Everything helped a LOT!!!
Rislove is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > MR2 Forum

Bookmarks

Tags
3sgte boost , manual boost controller , mbc

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.