1993 MR2 Factory Alarm - Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums


» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Advertisement
Ľ Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > MR2 Forum

MR2 Forum Forum for every generation Toyota MR2. Including the AW11 and SW20.

ToyotaNation.com is the premier Toyota Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2004, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rcustomrods's Photo Gallery
1993 MR2 Factory Alarm

Question about the factory alarm in the 93 Toyota MR2.

The remote that I have doesnít arm or disarm the alarm.
The alarm does work because I just unlocked the door through the window and opened the door and the alarm went off. The only way I was able to shut the alarm was with the key. And then the engine would not start until I manually unlocked the door with the key so it must have tripped a kill switch. Iím glad to know that the alarm works.

I wanted to know if there is a switch somewhere on the car the maybe activates of deactivates the remote controls for the alarm.

Can anyone elaborate on the alarm system?

By the way, I just bought the car a few weeks ago and still trying to get thing straightened out.

Robinson
wht 93
rcustomrods is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-09-2004, 10:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: KCMO
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View eclypz's Photo Gallery
Have you tried a new battery for the remote? Or does it work to unlock and lock but doesnt disarm the alarm?
eclypz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
MRQtwinturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 5,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View MRQtwinturbo's Photo Gallery
i never knew our cars came with factory remotes...i know 91s never did....u always have to use the key to activate the alarm....
__________________
91 mr2..07 335i..
MRQtwinturbo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 07:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: KCMO
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View eclypz's Photo Gallery
Hmm, I wonder if you a person ever found a 93 at a junk yard (I know, I know) if you could strip the part that senses remote. Is it just an ecu or is it a pile of stuff?
eclypz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 09:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Southern California
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View rcustomrods's Photo Gallery
Interesting,

Maybe the remote the guys gave me with the car is not for my MR2.

Robinson
rcustomrods is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2004, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
TN Post Wh*re
 
MRQtwinturbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Markham, ON
Posts: 5,005
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 2 reviews
View MRQtwinturbo's Photo Gallery
are u sure its not for an aftermarket alarm system??...take a look around the engine bay...do u have an extra siren??....trunk pin switches??......
__________________
91 mr2..07 335i..
MRQtwinturbo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2009, 01:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
New TN User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MD
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View eagle265's Photo Gallery
Quote:
i know 91s never did....u always have to use the key to activate the alarm....
how do you activate the alarm with the key? deactivate?

my 91 just disabled me in the Costco parking lot today for an hour before i finally realized that poping the clutch would still work and at least get me home. I too am trying to figure out how to arm and disarm the factory alarm that's on it.
eagle265 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2009, 02:52 PM   #8 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: KCMO
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View eclypz's Photo Gallery
Anytime mine does that I just get out of the car, lock the car up which usually re-engages the alarm and then unlock the car which turns it off. Essentially the car stillt hinks the alarm is engaged so it won't let you start the car.
eclypz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-12-2009, 05:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
TN's Hapa Haole
 
MR2Jedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Bumfuk AR
Posts: 16,529
Gameroom cash: $1595975
Thanks: 370
Thanked 726 Times in 592 Posts
Lifetime Supreme Member
iTrader Score: 6 reviews
View MR2Jedi's Photo Gallery
Seeing how this thread is over 4 yrs old, he's probably figured it out by now...
'91's did not come with a factory alarm. It must be an aftermarket system.

Last edited by MR2Jedi; 02-12-2009 at 09:35 PM.
MR2Jedi is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2009, 01:44 PM   #10 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: KCMO
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View eclypz's Photo Gallery
Mine must be an odd duck then because I have a 91 with a factory alarm. Damn thing now has taken upon itself to set and then disable my starter until I get out of the car, lock the passenger door and then unlock it again. I gotta figure out how to just overide the alarm at this point.
eclypz is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-07-2009, 01:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Official TN Member
 
SnowRocker88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 94
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
iTrader Score: 0 reviews
View SnowRocker88's Photo Gallery
If it's factory, there should be a remote disable (or maybe alarm disable) switch in the switch panel by your knee (by the door)...
__________________
SnowRocker88 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums > Toyota Passenger and Sports Car Forums > MR2 Forum

Bookmarks

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Toyota Nation Forum : Toyota Car and Truck Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
ToyotaNation.com is an independent Toyota/Lexus enthusiast website. ToyotaNation.com is not sponsored by or in any way affiliated with Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc. The Toyota, Lexus and Scion names and logos are trademarks owned by Toyota Motor Sales, USA, Inc.